We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed at this inn at least once a year since property was built. Never encountered all the problems DB from Mass did. I would guess they do not intend to be satisfied. Location is perfect for our needs as we have family close by. Pool area is always well kept.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind response and partronage. We are glad you chose the AmericInn as your "home away from home". We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 305 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I were attending an event at Mohegan Sun on a Saturday night. All of the hotels around the casino were running between $250 and $500 per night. We decided to stay a little further out - it was MUCH less expensive. This hotel is about 20 minutes from Mohegan Sun. There was a shuttle, but we opted not to use it. The room was a standard size, with a few more amenities than a typical hotel room - like a refrigerator, microwave, and safe. It seemed like the rooms had been recently updated, and the rooms were very clean. There were other people staying, but our room was very quite. The continental breakfast was good, too, with standard hot fair like eggs, sausage, and waffles, and cold fair like bagels, cereal, and yogurt. Oh, and coffee! We didn't use the pool or the exercise room, but they have both. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms if you are looking for something more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Griswold. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Laura Wheatley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here two nights and were happy with the accommodations. It was easily accessible, yet not noisy from the interstate traffic. Room was neat and clean and breakfast was a nice addition. We have had nothing but good experiences with this chain of hotels and the room rates were competitive. This is a recommended location!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank challengefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have always stayed at Foxwoods till we wanted to take in a show and they were sold out. So we tried this hotel which is only down the road from the casinos.What a great find when we got to the hotel we received an upgrade to a suite. Very nice place had an excellent breakfast and the room was clean and big.Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for positive comments. We are so glad you chose to stay with us. I hope we can continue to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Americ Inn on March 16, 2013 and could not have been happier. We were unsure as to what to expect as we had never heard of this brand before. After checking in we learned of its popularity in the midwest. The woman at the desk, Emily, is a superstar employee in every sense of the word. She gave us directions to the casino, recommended a great restaurant for dinner and definitely welcomed us with a sunny disposition.

Our room was immaculate and spacious. We were pleasantly surprised to find a whirlpool jacuzzi and fireplace in our room as well. The pool has a beautiful "lodge-like" atmosphere. In the mornig, we enjoyed the hot homestyle breakfast with make-your-own waffles, sausage and eggs and a delicious assortment of donuts, Danish and muffins.

We generally stay in Mystic but thought we would give this hotel a shot as the rates are very reasonable for this area and are one of the VERY FEW hotels that provide COMPLIMENTARY shuttle service to both casinos. Very, very pleased with this hotel. We will definitely be back to earn Easy Rewards Points.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbeeshoney1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your terrific review. We look forward to hosting you and your husband again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

At first glance, the hotel appeared charming. The first night revealed that that mattresses need to be replaced. They were very soft, lumpy and uncomfortable. Also the pillows were a strange material that was very noisy whenever we moved. We booked a room with 2 queen sized beds and got a room with 2 full sized beds. The breakfast was less than satisfactory. It consisted of packaged, store bought pastries, many of which were stale. Aside from apples that were not ripe yet, there was no fresh fruit. The coffee station did not have cream for the coffee for the first hour. (Breakfast is only available for two hours). The second morning, there was no milk. The staff told us "Look at all the kids here today. They drank all the milk." How about sending someone to the store to pick some up? Housekeeping continued to come to our room to make it up while we were trying to get ready for a wedding even though we told them we would be out at 1:00. The doors do not shut properly and had to be pulled, hard, to get them to lock. The pool seemed very popular and was always full, however the filter could not keep up with the activity. It had a coat of scum on it. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expections. I would however, like to update you on our property. All mattresses were replaced in 2011 with the Serta Perfect Sleeper. The vast majority of our guests rave over the comfort of our beds. I am sorry that they were not to your liking. Our hot homestyle breakfast is served daily from 6 AM to 10 AM - a total of four hours. All products that we use are delivered from a qualified vendor and are according to brand standards. As a matter of fact, the muffins that we serve are made by Otis Spunkmeyer and are of high quality. Again, I am sorry that this did not meet your expections. I do hope you will give us another try. Please feel free to contact me directly at 860-376-3200 to further discuss your stay and possibly reserve a future stay.

Thank you,
Laura Wheatley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My expectations of Americinn were exceeded as I had never stayed in this brand before, and I had conceived them as a budget brand. Lobby was comfortable, breakfast was good, and plentiful. Debbie - yes I mentioned your name because you were friendly and helpful - was delightful and willing to help with questions.

The pool area was well thought out, bright and a good size. The room was standard and basic, but clean and comfortable. This hotel is about 9 mi from Foxwoods and much cheaper. If we are in the area, we will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgewater5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for the fabulous review! I will definitely pass this along to Debbie. She is a gem. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you soon.

Warm regards,
Laura Wheatley, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Griswold
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norwich-Plainfield-Casino
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
813 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norwich
Hampton Inn Norwich
#1 of 6 in Norwich
127 reviews
15.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold

Address: 375 Voluntown Rd, Griswold, CT 06351-2532
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Griswold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Price Range: $95 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold is your destination for comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodations near the I-395 business corridor. Visitors to the Mohegan Sun, Foxwoods Resort Casinos and MGM Grand Casino at Foxwoods will enjoy our unbeatable hotel value and free hourly casino shuttle every weekend. (Shuttle reservations must be made in advance.) Relax and enjoy yourself gambling, or taking in a concert or event while we take care of your transportation.(Please contact the hotel direct for shuttle times.) Sports fans will also enjoy our convenient location near venues for the Connecticut Defenders baseball team and Connecticut Sun basketball team. When you're not busy at an event, you'll enjoy our comfortable rooms and vast amenities: a heated indoor pool, hot tub, fireplace and whirlpool suites, free high-speed Internet, new flatscreen TVs in each guest room and more. Start each morning out right with our free hot, home-style breakfast before exploring the Griswold and Norwich areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Griswold
Americinn Lodge & Suites Griswold Hotel Griswold
Americinn Hotel Griswold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing