We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bed, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great bed, great room”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, located on the border of Greenwich in a great location. The hotel is modern, has a European feel to it, and is comfortable at the same time.

The mattress is an excellent pillow top, the standard size is a king, the room is spacious enough for an additional desk and chair and the shower is just wonderful.

It may take a little to figure out the mechanics of the lights and blinds as you're working the system on the iPad, however switches are located near the door and bed to turn them on or off.

Have a seat in the lounge or outside patio near one of the fireplaces. A very nice place indeed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paraplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    73
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
56
104
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a small boutique hotel. Very modern and comfortable. Beautiful clean rooms, nice showers, and very helpful front desk service. They also have a shuttle service for guests. I really enjoyed this hotel.

The restaurant was not up to par. Had a steak for lunch that was nothing special except the high price, and a little too much sugar in the mushroom sauce. After that lunch we decided to eat at the nearby restaurants for the rest of our meals. The bar was nice place to sit, visit with friends and have a drink.

The pool was closed during our visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very comfortable high tech hotel! Beds were very comfortable. Service was wonderful. Watch out for the toilet! Awesome. Great location . Restaurant...Expensive...breakfast. Coffee was 5.00. Service very slow... All orders came out wrong. I would say don't eat there but stay there! Oh and one glass of wine was 18.00!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a truly unique and technologically advanced hotel. The rooms were clean and smartly decorated. Ipads are provided to do things like turn on the lights, open the curtains, everything at the touch of a button; even the toilet was mechanized, but my compliments stop here. My group consisted of my sister, my mom and me. My mom is 87.5 years old and walks with a walker. The only room that could accommodate us was down a few steps and then around a corner and down a hallway. Not very easy to access for her. All the electronics made my mom crazy, so perhaps older people who aren't comfortable with sort of thing won't enjoy the experience. The worst part was, however, there was absolutely no hot water in the morning; the shower was frigid, so none of us showered. When I spoke to the desk, other people were there complaining of the same thing. The manager told me he will not be able to compensate us because we paid for the room through Tingo. I really did not feel the staff were very accommodating or helpful or really even cared. Other people may really enjoy this hotel, but we will not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readingtutr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were very pleased with our initial experience. The staff on check in were helpful but we were trying to get a premier room and since we were not knowledgeable about the hotel we ended up getting a room facing the parking lot. Staff should have explained the hotel and our options better. We were very excited to experience the beautiful bar and restaurant but we had already made dinner reservations elsewhere and invited our guests to come back for a drink and enjoy the beautiful space. When we arrived at 9:30 PM the restaurant only had one table occupied and the bar which was very large only had 2 people seated. We went to sit down but the hostess told us we could not have a drink at the bar, we had to order food. We explained we were guests and wanted a just a drink. She was adamant that no exceptions were to be made irregardless that no-one was at the bar. We had to go sit in a lounge in another space which was not conductive to a late night drink,
since it was overly lighted. We had to apologize to our guests and they had to leave without a drink and we just went to our rooms which were nice but we would never stay here again because of,the service and our resident friends will never return either. Shame looks very nice.

Room Tip: Be very clear about what you want and expect. Staff not a lot of help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 259Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great hotel, great accommodations and great staff. We had a wonderful stay. The room was new, clean and sleek. Love the reflective flat screens and all the technology in the rooms. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Even though there was a soft opening for the restaurant and bar, breakfast was very good and inexpensive. We will have to come back when the renovations are complete and everything is open. Great location and near excellent restaurants, beaches and shops. We loved it. The public areas in the hotel are really cool and set up for quiet relaxation. The fireplace in the lounge area is cool and the decor is engaging and artsy. The bar is neat with clean lines. Shuttle service to local restaurants and shops. Looking forward to the outdoor area to be open and the warmer weather for the pool. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed there this past Wednesday. The front desk is so helpful and extremely nice. They make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are insane !! So clean and everything is technology based. The beds are so comfortable it's like your sleeping on a pile of marshmallows. So private and a beautiful neighborhood. I stayed one night and actually left a bag behind and they were kindly enough to ship it to me (I paid for shipping for my mistake) Can't wait to plan my next trip out there !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicollemarie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
16.9 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Property: The J House Greenwich
Address: 1114 E Putnam Ave, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwich, CT's only modern boutique full service hotel focused on personalized experiences and hospitality. Fully renovated and opened in 2012.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing