We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the nicest boutique hotels I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One the nicest boutique hotels I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

J HOUSE! I'm definitely a fan for life. I was in Greenwich for a conference and this place is pretty much all I could ask for in a hotel. I was only there for 2 nights but I will certainly never forget it. I loved everything about it! The rooms were immaculate.. loved the iPad and all the different buttons to control everything in the room... the automatic sensor toilet lid.. heated toilet seat.. TV in the bathroom mirror.. bed was AMAZING. Everything about the hotel room was very 'smart'. The only thing that would have made the room 100% perfect (instead of 99.5%) is if there was a makeup mirror in the bathroom. With the TV in the bathroom mirror you kind of have to angle yourself off to the side almost between the sink and the toilet if you need to get up close to the mirror. The restaurant in the hotel is beautiful, great ambiance. I only ate dinner there one of the nights. I ordered the salmon and it was very tasty. They also have a great wine selection.

My only other suggestion to make this place truly perfect would be to have some late night snack options other than the vending machine. The restaurant closes at 10:30 so if you miss that, there aren't any other options in the area except for the gas station and McDonalds.

Other than that, everything is great. Thanks to everyone at J House for making this a very pleasant stay. If I am ever in Greenwich again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear BKSweetheart,
Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to read that you are a fan of The J House Greenwich for life! What a spectacular compliment. It pleases us to learn that our amenities exceeded expectations. Your comments about the makeup mirror and late night snacks will be shared with our Executive Committee, and we appreciate you bringing to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.
Sincerely,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    75
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
57
111
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Four Oaks, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the moment my adult daughter & I arrived to check in until the moment we checked out, we received excellent customer service. Steven, at the front desk, was so nice & accommodating of every request we had. I have traveled a great deal for business & pleasure, stayed in a large variety of accommodations from the East Coast to the West Coast and I must say that the JHouse has the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in! Loved the modern details of the room (i.e., IPad controlled blinds, lights, room temperature; large flat screen TV behind mirror and TV behind mirror in the bathroom; shower and the best toilet ever!) Actually, there was not one thing that we did not like about our room or the service we received from all the staff! Highly recommend "The JHouse" to everyone! Will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMHolmes42066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MMHolmes42066,
Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that you and your daughter had such a wonderful experience with us at The J House Greenwich. Our staff makes every effort to create an experience that is both unique and memorable, and we are happy to have achieved that with for you. Thank you for highly recommending our hotel to fellow travelers.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and felt like the food and beverage has a real identity and leadership but the hotel is a bit of a step child, without a parent. Our only complaint about the restaurant is the ridiculously loud live music screeching in the dining room while you are trying to speak to your guest. Re the lodging, at check in, it is evident that you should not require much assistance since the checkin desk is more like a car valet station. The night guy is on personal calls all night so if you need anything, you have to go to the front desk. Day service at the desk is professional and efficient and the rooms are clean. The tech features are cool but not a reason to return. With few options in the Greenwich area, this is my second choice when the Delamar is sold out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear BuckeyeChef,
Thank you for your review and continued loyalty to The J House Greenwich. Allow us to apologize if the volume of the live music caused any inconvenience during your dining experience. Please be assured of our best efforts to deserve your confidence in us, and we hope to be your preferred hotel in Greenwich, CT.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

everything here was completely amazing! when you first walk in, the smell of chocolate fills your nostrils almost instantaneously. the chocolate there was phenomenal! I honestly cant rave enough about the restaurant. every meal I had completely met my expectations. (Don't leave without having the pancakes) The room was very clean, and very high tech. Watching The Big Bang Theory while brushing my teeth was pretty fun! Over all, I highly recommend stopping by to check out the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear adam s,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you found our accommodations to be "amazing." It is also wonderful to hear that Eleven14 Kitchen exceeded your expectations. Thank you for highly recommending The J House Greenwich to fellow readers and travelers. It would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The second i stepped foot in the "J House", i was instantly impressed. I was very warmly welcomed by all the friendly staff members. It was also a pleasure meeting the rooms director. He was very accommodating and responsive to all our needs. I was very impressed by how modernized and entertaining the rooms were. First of all, the giant mirror on the wall is also a TV. Not to mention the crystal clear picture on the TV. You need to check out the mini TV in the bathroom. So when you are getting ready and freshening up in the bathroom, you can enjoy your favorite shows. Also, the entire room is controlled by an iPad. No more getting up to turn on and off the lights. When you need to go to bed, you hit the good night button and down go the blinds and the lights. When you need to wake up, there is an alarm on the iPad, then you can hit the wake up button and on go the lights and up goes the blinds. You can also order room service on the iPad, read newspapers etc. Finally, the toilet. The toilet opens when you walk up to it and is controlled by a remote. It will heat up for you, dry for you, and squirt water for you. Then there is the restaurant. The restaurant is called 1114 kitchen. The menu has a variety of great, delicious, and reasonably priced food, with great staff and service. After dinner, you must visit the chocolate lab. There you will find homemade Gillette, ice cream, and of course chocolate. It is all very delicious and will exceed to our expectations. We defiantly recommend the J House to all friends and family, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jordan S,
Thank you for your review. We were also pleased to learn that you were most impressed with the high-tech guest room amenities. Many guest such as yourself enjoy the TV mirrors and automatic Toto washlet. We are so glad you enjoyed the food at Eleven14 Kitchen and Chocolate Lab. Thank you for recommending The J House Greenwich, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the J House last weekend with friends and had a great experience. The hotel and its high tech decor were so unique. I loved everything from the food in the restaurant to the gelato in the chocolate lab in the lobby! ipads in every room made our stay so personalized. You gotta try this place!

Room Tip: The rooms are AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Randi S,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at The J House Greenwich with your friends. We are thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed our high-tech amenities. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow readers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I ended up here because I did't get a room at the Greenwich Hyatt, and wanted to stay in the neighborhood. I stayed almost two weeks and everything was perfect.
The rooms are great, all controlled through an iPad, a nice coffee machine and TV screens behind the big room mirror and in the bathroom.

There are some details that will surely get better while the Hotel gains experience like the housekeeping service (the timing is kind of eclectic) and the internet / TV connections, which need more broadband. If you are a heavy internet user, the broadband cuts your Skype video chat off after 4 minutes. Some HD channels on the TV sometimes are not available. It is fair to say that wifi is 100% complimentary so far. At the same time, if your wifi us cut off, then you have to restart the iPad app that controls the lights and shades.

Room temperature also needs adjustments, but being everything new, I am sure that will get better with time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Denis K,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay two weeks at The J House Greenwich. We are glad you enjoyed our in-room iPads, Mirror TV's, and coffee machine. Your comment about the internet connectivity will be addressed with our executive committee, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
672 reviews
16.9 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
343 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Property: The J House Greenwich
Address: 1114 E Putnam Ave, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwich, CT's only modern boutique full service hotel focused on personalized experiences and hospitality. Fully renovated and opened in 2012.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing