We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying at someone's home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Like staying at someone's home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've been staying at the Stanton House for 12 years. I seek it out because of its friendly, warm environment and its extremely comfortable rooms. You feel like a houseguest at a particularly posh Greenwich house.

Beds are huge, lighting is good. The breakfast isn't so great (except at weekends when they serve a hot breakfast).

Ample parking is free. This is the kind of place where the staff know you once you've stayed there a few times. Well worth trying out.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are in the oldest part of the house, though you can get rooms with direct outdoor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucada777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    19
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
35
74
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in July, 2011. The Stanton House is across the street from our son, daughter-in-law,and grandaughter, at whose house we are normally welcome (really), but this occasion was a BIG birthday party, and we had no complaints about our stay here. Anyone visiting Greenwich or NYC would likely love this house and the hospitality of the hosts. The room where breakfast is served is especially fine. I wanted to sit outside to eat, but, alas, Greenwich has the same flying insects as the rest of eastern N.A., so I would have had to dine alone. On any future group family events in Greenwich, we would gladly volunteer to walk across the street. By the way, the house across the way isn't shabby, either. I'm told that Mark Twain's daughter once resided there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin P, Owner at Stanton House Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Jim, I know it's been quite a bit of time since your visit, but I just wanted to let you know that we appreciate your writing us a recommendation. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we could make the birthday festivities just a little more special. Next time you visit your family, we'd love for you to stay with us again!

Colin P, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I needed a night away. We don't have a car and
needed to go somewhere relatively close to home which is Manhattan.
I searched the internet and finally found the Stanton House Inn. One
thing we wanted was quiet since we are apartment dwellers. We got
it by choosing Room 32 which is tucked away in a corner of the house.
The owners aimed to please. Continental breakfast nicer than most
and included hard boiled eggs, fruit, cold cereal. Cookies always on
hand as well as coffee and tea. Lovely sitting rooms. One night stay
was just the getaway we both needed! Highly recommend if you'd
like a quiet place with charm. Metro North stops at Greenwich.

Room Tip: Room 32 for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retiredjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Very quiet and super comfortable. Extremely clean. Price per night was very reasonable for the area. The breakfast was all cold items, fruit, bread, cereal and yogurt. Some hot items would have been nice but all in all we really liked staying there.
Would stay there again if I visit that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I'm grateful to have found this place - I used it for business travel during the week, but it would have been just as good a choice for any purpose. My room was very large, and very nicely furnished, and in period style, making for a very relaxing atmosphere.

This place is so far superior to your usual hotel experience! Personal greetings, relaxed atmosphere, spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, and a wonderful breakfast. Walking distance to Greenwich shopping and only a bit further to the harbor.

I'd recommend this place to anyone, whether they were looking for a B&B or a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capeman228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton ny 13346
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My sister and I have stayed at the Stanton House numerous times when we return to our home town. It always meets our expectations for cleanliness, comfort ,(beds and surroundings). We have come in all seasons. Breakfast is good and served in a welcoming dining room. The grounds around this venerable,old house and the house itself are well maintained and all is welcoming. It is the closest we can come to being home in our old town. Staff, owners and the house itself make it all work.
Elizabeth H.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elizabethhumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We count ourselves very fortunate to have found this wonderful B and B . We had read a host of great reviews on Trip Adviser but were worried by the one report of a poor bed and towels . Frankly we found the complete opposite . Our room was large and airy , the bed was kingsized and comfortable and all spotlessly clean .We had as many towels as we wanted and the bathroom was fine .
The owners take a great deal of interest in making sure that the stay is as comfortable as possible . They have lots of information about the area and nothing was too much trouble for them . They arranged for car hire , clubs storage and advised on directions for our trips .
Of course the greatest asset of the Inn is its location . Just a walk away from Greenwich Avenue .Subsequently we found that several of our business contacts from outside the area chose to stay here rather than experience the impersonal service and facilities of the large hotel chains . We will return !

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 32 which we were advised had earlier received a bad review . We slept there for 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
1.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
2.0 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Inn

Property: Stanton House Inn
Address: 76 Maple Ave, Greenwich, CT 06830-5698
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton House Inn is a unique bed and breakfast in Greenwich, offering a piece of old world charm just a few steps away from the town’s finest attractions. Lovingly restored in a country decor by its current owners, this small and peaceful Inn is an elegant and intimate alternative to ordinary hotels. With 20 individually decorated chambers including three suites, The Stanton House Inn offers all of the modern comforts and amenities you could hope for in a friendly and relaxed environment. From breakfast, dry cleaning and concierge services to cable TV, wifi and an on-site swimming pool, we provide everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stanton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton House Hotel Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing