We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
75
5
5
7
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
5
5
7
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas henkelmann romantic getaway outstanding food modern amenities the main house sitting room french restaurant wonderful stay checking in theresa plush ct toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Poor service. Good food presentation but lacking in taste and substance. Room OK but listing severely near door. The experience does not meet the level that we are used to in Relais and Chateaux properties.

Room tip: Repair listing of room near door.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank disappointed292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

Air-conditioning did not work. They tried to give us a room in the attic that was like a sauna. People indifferent. Restaurant probably very good, but don’t stay here just to eat at the restaurant. Very disappointing.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

For our 6th anniversary my wife Kristine, our pup Hunter von Kellner and I opted for a little getaway to celebrate the occasion. Friends from Germany had previously recommended The Homestead Inn. What a beautiful find just one short hour North of the city nestled on top of a hill in a quiet residential neighborhood of Greenwich, CT. The general decor of the rooms and the restaurant is traditional mixed with some fun artsy elements (thanks to the exquisite taste of Mrs. Henkelmann) .Dinner at the restaurant Thomas Henkelmann was divine. A big Thank You to Mr. an Mrs. Henkelmann and their staff for a wonderful time !!!! We will be back

Room tip: Consult with Theresa Henkelmann
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwolfkellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019

I recently stayed at The Homestead Inn on an executive retreat. We utilized the inn for guest rooms, our board meeting and dining. The inn itself is charming and our meeting was flawless. The soul of this hotel is its owner Theresa Carroll. She is charming, warm and funny and obviously takes immense pride in what she and her partner Thomas Henkelmann have created. The food provided in their fine dining room rivals the best you will find in France.The staff is extraordinary. Everyone is warm, attentive and caring - sadly a rare find today. Astley (sp?) prepares a perfect martini, with pride and grace, as though you are a guest in his own home. While this visit was business I look forward to returning with my wife for a getaway weekend. It's a 45 minute ride and light years away from Manhattan.

Room tip: Do not think of staying without experiencing dinner in Thomas Henkelmann one night.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarnoldJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018

My husband and I went to the Homestead Inn in November to celebrate our anniversary. The inn is so charming, the people there were so friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was delicious. We had a corner room with a sitting room attached in the main inn. So much old world charm with modern amenities. The dining room has a great sunroom where we had breakfast, and there was so much attention given to everything from the table settings to the warm milk they provide with your coffee. Loved every minute and hope to go back soon.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews