We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Off-Site Business Meeting - Good Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Off-Site Business Meeting - Good Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our company had our off-site annual meeting at the Homestead. It was great location and only about 45 minutes from Central Manhattan. For a small quaint meeting, it was perfect. The meeting room was well lighted, lots of windows and comfortable chairs. The decor was also very nice. Service was excellent and the plated lunch was perfect.

Drinks on the patio, perfect weather, service was excellent and good conversation...what else would you want? Dinner was in a small private room. Food was very good and we had a wine pairing (only thing might have been helpful to ask preferences before determining the pairing). Two sweeter wines (reisling and port - was a little too much for a few of us). Again, service was excellent.

The hotel rooms were very nice....everything you would need. The bed and linens (great). I asked for a shirt to be ironed and it was back in 10 minutes. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast type hotel, but very upscale. Decor and gardens very nice. The staff was so very accomodating. All and all - good pick!

Since I was not paying, I can't comment on the value.

Room Tip: I had 118 in the back house and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    4
    5
    17
See reviews for
7
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Excellent food, polite service but hotel not even close to Relais and Chateaux standards. Our room offered noisy motel style a/c unit, inoperable windows and multiple plumbing issues. However, bed was clean and comfortable and towels fresh. Interior decor is bizarre and in the way.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonshadower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Im guessing many of the bad reviews have come from people attempting to live above their means. This is a wonferful inn with great staff. If you're looking for a memorable night, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were very disappointed with almost every aspect of our stay but most especially the rude treatment we received in the restaurant. The waiters spent more time whispering about the guests than they spent serving. The food was very mediocre. When we sent an email to the owner he did not even have the courtesy to respond. We loved the surrounding are but will not return to this property. We are certain the owner would not care one way or the other! What a shame because it could be a very lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rbdNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

As a designer I love what they have done with the hotel ! From the minute we checked in we loved ever minute of our stay. Our carriage house room was so clean and very cozy. I had ordered some wine and cheese before we had checked in and 5 mintues after going into our room we had a knock at the door( most 5 star hotel I have ever went to come late or just forget). We did eat at the inn and the bar and food was 5 stars again. The best of all is coming back to the room and having the best turn down ever.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designguy134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We used to live in Greenwich and came back to visit. We decided to treat ourselves to a romantic stay at the Homestead. Although the owner was very nice and offered us wine, etc. on our arrival, we were very disappointed. We sat on the porch outside our room and someone served us the drinks. The next morning, the glasses and yesterday's newspaper were still sitting there. The room was decorated nicely except for the excessive dust collecting artificial plants. The room had an unpleasant odor which was disturbing. Breakfast was not included. I didn't think it was up to the standards of the other Calais B & B's we have stayed at. Next time I would save my money and stay at the other B & B in Greenwich.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naples6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The noise from I95 and Amtrak is present but unobtrusive. The rooms, although quite small and crowded, are nicely decorated. Relaid & Chateaux . . . Not up to standard. And the staff . . . Stuffy, even snobby. Next time. We'll stay in a Marriott in Stamford and save $200.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
0.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
3.1 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Rye
Courtyard Rye
#1 of 1 in Rye
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 420 Field Point Rd, Greenwich, CT 06830-7097
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homestead Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOMESTEAD INN ~ THOMAS HENKELMANN HAS LONG BEEN CONSIDERED ONE OF THE COUNTRY'S FINEST ADDRESSES.THIS EXQUISITE PROPERTY IS LOCATED ON THE BELLE HAVEN PENINSULA. MAJESTICALLY POISED ON 2.744 LUSHLY LANDSCAPED ACRES, THIS TIMELESS ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE IS HOME TO A LUXURY BOUTIQUE HOTEL AND WORLD RENOWNED FRENCH RESTAURANT THOMAS HENKELMANN IS AN IMPRESSIVE MODERN SHOWCASE OF ELEGANCE, WARMTH AND SOPHISTICATION. HOMESTEAD INN -THOMAS HENKELMANN EXEMPLIFIES THE BEST BY BLENDING DETAILS AND CHARACTER WITH SUPERB MODERN AMENITIES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing