We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood”

Elm Street Oyster House
Reserve with OpenTable
Elm Street Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 158 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greenwich Avenue
NY
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good seafood, nice atmosphere...good service!

Helpful?
Thank elsbells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    36
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Successful fishing expedition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to the Elm Street Oyster House to celebrate a promotion, and it had been a long time since we had been there for dinner. Dinner was fabulous. Only wine and beer choices, but there are several decent of both at a variety of price points. All the fish dishes were well-prepared (Sea Bass, Soft Shell Crabs, Swordfish, Mahi) either grilled or pan roasted. I had the spinach and cheese grits sides, very good. Nice selection of oysters - Wallace Bay's were good. Cheesecake and Key Lime tart were tasty as well. Thought the service was attentive and friendly from the front door to the table as well. Need to go back and try a few things...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
432 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not my choice, but it was okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A group of ladies decided to lunch here. Parking in the area is terrible. It's a cute place and the service was excellent. I had the fish tacos - highly recommended. They were not a normal fish taco - which I would have preferred. I didn't like the salad that accompanied the tacos, but I believe that is more a specific preference to me. I didn't feel great that night - not sure if it was the tacos or just a bug. The iced tea was good. I should have had the Po Boy sandwich - after all, the name over the door is oyster.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Came with a group for a birthday celebration. Had mussels and cod. Food was perfectly prepared and service was great. Place is very very noisy and expensive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good, friendly - a bit over-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The food and drinks here were great, the seafood chowder was some of the best I've ever had. Everything was fresh, the raw oysters were fantastic. It is a bit over-priced, even for the Greenwich area. If it were more reasonably priced I would feel like I finally found the local, fresh seafood restaurant I've been searching for in this area.
Make reservations!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettenandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Street Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Elm Street Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing