We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun and tasty time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boxcar Cantina

Boxcar Cantina
Ranked #15 of 158 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Original New Mexican cuisine using locally sourced and organic ingredients. Dine and drink fireside. Be sure to try the "Super Chief" margaritas made from 100% agave tequila and CT raised chicken tinga tacos. Boxcar Cantina is Connecticut's first certified green restaurant.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun and tasty time!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

First, to the other reviewers: stop your whining! Families with small kids have been coming here for years. They keep the kids in one section away from everyone else. We just finished a wonderful meal and see all kinds of groups seated around us. We started with the chorizo con queso and tortilla soup. Both deserve five stars! We then had the pork burrito and four tacos. They deserve five stars as well! The sangria was awesome and the flan for dessert is one of the best desserts I ever had. Stick to the regular margarita, no need to pay for the Super. All of the ingredients are fresh and many are organic and local, hence the high prices. But overall, we had a great meal and will definitely be back to try other menu items!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mekeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Please check your bill before pay”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

1. Charging customers who pay such high price for food and drink for your chips and salsa is offensive. When I go with my children, there are five of us and we would like two chips and salsa and that now adds $8 onto my bill. I could stop the review right here because I consider this ill business decision nickel and diming your customers. I spent $175 for three kids and two adults and that was with only one alcohol drink. Do I really have to pay for chips ontop of this!? Shame on you nancy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
239 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Greenwich, Mexico!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a comfortable place to go for an informal dinner. The food is excellent, and the service is right up there too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobLeblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Expected better”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The other reviews on this restaurant we good enough to head over and try. We did....
When we arrived we were moved very quickly away from the bar area as we were told you have to be 21 to wait in there( we were with our 2 kids) so there really is no waiting area, we were waiting next to seated tables....finally sat down. Place is very loud, and the service was poor. My husband and I ordered margaritas and kids ordered lemonade.....waiter mixed these up and gave my 4 year old the margarita.....nice job...not !!
We ordered and food came in a timely manor, but not worth the presentation or the time we waited for the table. Appetizers were very expensive, 17$ a shot of patron silver, bottle retails for 49.99$. Amy's frozen organic Mexican is a better bet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Avereage”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decent mexican food outweighed by difficult parking and too many kids at cetain times.
If you can go at off hours, when lot is not crammed nor are the high chairs they food is good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boxcar Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Boxcar Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing