We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boxcar Cantina

Boxcar Cantina
Ranked #16 of 158 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Original New Mexican cuisine using locally sourced and organic ingredients. Dine and drink fireside. Be sure to try the "Super Chief" margaritas made from 100% agave tequila and CT raised chicken tinga tacos. Boxcar Cantina is Connecticut's first certified green restaurant.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Expected better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The other reviews on this restaurant we good enough to head over and try. We did....
When we arrived we were moved very quickly away from the bar area as we were told you have to be 21 to wait in there( we were with our 2 kids) so there really is no waiting area, we were waiting next to seated tables....finally sat down. Place is very loud, and the service was poor. My husband and I ordered margaritas and kids ordered lemonade.....waiter mixed these up and gave my 4 year old the margarita.....nice job...not !!
We ordered and food came in a timely manor, but not worth the presentation or the time we waited for the table. Appetizers were very expensive, 17$ a shot of patron silver, bottle retails for 49.99$. Amy's frozen organic Mexican is a better bet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Avereage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decent mexican food outweighed by difficult parking and too many kids at cetain times.
If you can go at off hours, when lot is not crammed nor are the high chairs they food is good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite South Western Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Everything about Boxcar Cantina is excellent!!

I arranged to meet a group of family and friends there for lunch, we all ran a little late and a few in the group even later, but the staff were so accommodating and made us feel welcome. I had the best Carne Adovada Enchillada and the Super Chief Margarita is one of the best I have had on my travels (including visits to Mexico). A few in the group were not drinking alcohol and they had the most refreshing and amazing limeade. The meal was fairly expensive, but worth every penny, they use organic, natural and local produce and that means a lot to me, to know where my food originates from.
Boxcar Cantina is a must go to on my list!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SPEC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Ct
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food but eat in the bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very good food and margaritas but difficult the enjoy with all the children running around the small restaurant. Meal is more expensive than most Mexican restaurants but they use high quality ingredients. Eat in the bar if during dinner hour.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Close Mexican Food for Greenwich Residents”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I thought the food was pretty good here, but there was definitely "something" missing. I found it to be pretty average.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boxcar Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Boxcar Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing