We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Rude Staff”

Harvest Wine Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 159 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful! Rude Staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I live in Greenwich and have never had an experience as bad as the one we had at Harvest! The owner was so rude to us. He gave our table away while we waited for over 10 minutes at the bar for a glass of wine. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Millbrookdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    51
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Service - Food is not great”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

As I read through the items on the menu, they all sounded great, BUT.........the food itself was not good at all. I ordered the Mac and Cheese with Short Ribs - the meat tasted like pot roast that was reheated in the microwave. I picked out the meat and just ate the pasta (which was bland - I put salt and peper on every bite). We didn't even finish it. Also ordered the brussels sprout app. The risotto cake it came on was pretty tasteless, but the shaved sprouts were decent. We didnt finish this dish either. Such a shame because the space has so much potential. A friend of mine went here last week and had the same takeaway about the subpar food, but I wanted to try it for myself. Im glad I did so that I wouldnt be wondering, but I won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jlk_gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich,CT.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good food, spotty service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a great meal on a busy Saturday night at Harvest. Gnocchi bolognese was excellent. Perfectly light, fluffy gnocchi & rich sauce. The lobster pot pie was exceptional, no skimping on the lobster.
That said, the service was erratic & even funny at times. Meals were being brought to the wrong tables all around us. We received some dirty silverware & there was general confusion among the wait staff. At the end of the meal, we ordered cappuccino and we are not sure what we got, but the waiter corrected the situation. In the end, the cappuccino was very good. Didn't try the desserts, the selection was uninspiring.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodsidepasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super yummy, great prix fixe lunch”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were very pleased with the prix fixe lunch menu. It was rather empty when we arrived at noon, but filled up pretty quickly. I had the shaved brussel sprout salad (amazing and unique) plus the butternut squash ravioli (sweet and delicious without being heavy). Friends had the salmon tartar, field greens salad and salmon with beans/kale. All were big hits. We refrained from dessert because we were all full from the great lunch. Highly recommend it for excellent food, great selections and a good value on the lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTJwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Greenwich”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a great addition to Greenwich. The food was amazing! There were four of us, we all had appetizers, entrees and dessert. It was hard to choose as everything sounded incredible, and the actual food was even better! Our service was fantastic! The staff was friendly, attentive and truly happy to be there. They completely renovated the space and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. They have a open kitchen, a beautiful bar and have done a great job of minimizing noise.

The food was fresh, incredibly tasty and beautifully presented. For appetizers, we had tuna tartare and Brussel sprout salad on a risotto cake. The tuna was fresh and full of flavor and The brussel sprout salad on a risotto cake was a divine combination of foods - a must have if you go! For dinner we had Butternut Squash Ravioli, Fettuccini Carbonara, Veal Chop and the Scallops. All were great sized portions and delicious! No one was going to get dessert, but they all sounded so incredible that all four of us got something: Warm apple pie with vanilla ice cream and cheddar cheese, Banana bread pudding, Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip ice cream and Carrot Cake! A perfect ending to a perfect meal!

So happy to have such a great restaurant in Greenwich!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing