We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They always treat us well there”

Gabriel's Italian Steakhouse
Ranked #12 of 158 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West Putnam Avenue
Description: Gabriele’s Italian Steakhouse fills the void in the Fairfield County dining scene with the quintessential steakhouse. It brings together America’s two favorite cuisines under one location. Located a stone’s throw from Greenwich Avenue, Gabriele’s is fine dining – sans pretense.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“They always treat us well there”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sometimes when you go to a fancy steakhouse with four kids, you can expect somewhat cold treatment. Uh oh, here comes a small check...

Me and my wife and four kids have always been treated superbly by Tony (Maitre D) and the staff at Gabrielle's. Tony gets on the phone personally when we call for a res, and finds a table for us even when they're full. First class operation all the way as far as service goes.

The food is mostly standard steakhouse fare, all of which is very good. High attention to quality and detail are evident.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went last night for my sisters birthday and we had a great experience. The staff was very accomodating even though we were late, they held our table and worked with us to make the evening memorable. The manager was hilarious and gave us a trivia question. The food was extremely good- the new york strip steak had a lot of flavor, the poached pear with proscutio was great- but my absolute favorite was the lobster spagetti- literally the best pasta dish I've had hands down- including when traveling in Italy! Can't wait to go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCGirl5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Great Italan”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I don't recall having such phenomenal steak anywhere except some of the Great New York steakhouses. But in addition, the pasta here is cooked to perfection. Frankly I could make a meal of the complementary hot bread with sausage filling-- it is out of this world. The workmanship in the restaurant itself is beyond compare including curved glass windows which separates the lively bar area from the dining room. This is definitely a place you want to keep going back to which I have done about six times. I've never been disappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Greenwich Restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've now dined at Gabriel's 3 times and haven't been disappointed in anything yet! The food is OUTSTANDING...appetizers, steaks (to die for), and side dishes are all PERFECTION!!!! Even the french fries are the best ever!!!! We haven't yet tried any of the pasta dishes because we tend to go with steak or fish. The cocktail menu is also terrific...very unique drinks and the wine list is fantastic!!

Service is fantastic...extremely attentive, very warm & friendly, and professional. Heading the service is the maitre d', Tony, who makes a point to circle the room constantly checking in at every single table to ensure your experience is good, to offer some trivia questions and lots of laughs. His genuine warmth ensures everyone has a good time.

If we could waive a magic wand to improve anything, we would selfishly lower the prices just a tad but we realize that excellence isn't cheap and we get what we pay for. The only negative we've experienced is the valet staff...young men who aren't overly friendly and don't even open the doors for the ladies. Maybe Tony can work on them a bit!

Gabriel's is a MUST!!! We look forward to many more excellent dinners there in the future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Don’t Waste Your Ears or Money”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Heard it was hopping and had great steaks. The former was true; the latter not at least for me.
Hidden in an expensively refitted former Lucca steak house on the wrong side of Putnam Ave, (U.S. 1) it is not the easiest to find; but from all the cars trying to get attention from too few valets it is apparent many have and most seem to have heard “don’t drive a Honda” if you want to get any attention.
The bar scene poured out onto the front porch and the noise followed. Combine the too many people who were there the one night we will go, with much alcohol and a décor that puts emphasis on chic as opposed o use of sound deadening materials one has the recipe for an assault on ones eardrums.
I could not hear my companions let alone the waiter as he went thru too much explanation of too many ways they prepared their food and too many specials.
The food was “New York Steak House” traditional. Too big portions and nothing really to separate the place from Morton’s, Frankie and Johnny’s or Smith & Wollensky’s. My steak was not memorable; only the noise and the bill.
Tony, who had built a following at Valbella, thought he could attract the Lamborghini crowd to a hot new place. He has his attraction is only that it is hot; not that it is good or pleasant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriel's Italian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Gabriel's Italian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing