We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a relaxing antidote to NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel on a picturesque waterfront, only 30 miles or so from Manhattan. On arrival we were offered a 1st floor room, but on requesting a higher floor we eventually were given a room on the executive floor (4th) for a nominal extra charge. The rooms are well appointed and with a great view across the water. All the staff were really helpful, without exception. The concierge service, although not as all-encompassing as in other hotels I have stayed in, was fine, and allowed us to have breakfast on our terrace which was fabulous.

However, one element of the stay was not great......We opted for the Beach package, which sounded idyllic - a ferry trip to a private island in Long Island sound, with beach towels and snack provided. However, unpicking this offer, the day passes for the beach were 6 dollars each and the ferry (10 dollars each) we're not included in the supplement. 40 dollars was what I was charged for something that cost the hotel, maybe 15 dollars tops. So in my view poor value. Were it not for providing the towels I think we could have done the whole package ourselves for the 12 dollars for two beach passes that we're being sold at the ferry dock.

Other than this a great hotel for a couple of days. Would strongly consider again, but maybe not any of the packages!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbour makes the trip and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, the hotel is indeed a quick trip from NYC but feels a world away. Thank you also for bringing to my attention your concerns regarding the Beach package. I will have our sales team look into this to ensure it represents not only a great expereince, but value for money as well. Please reach out to me at your convenience, I would like to ensure your next visit to Delamar is extra special (203) 413-3514
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location, very nice upscale hotel, great service. Stayed one night with my wife for an early aniv get away without kids. Location cant be beat, walk to town, relax by the water, ferry to island beach. Island beach was well worth checking out. Being from Long Island it was was a different type of beach visit, which was cool. The hotel rooms were very nice, free shuttle was great. Only drawback was when the wedding was going on, the outdoor patio was closed for the party, taking away a nice relaxing spot to have a drink at night. Rooftop lounge would be amazing! Hope to return next summer

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks for your excellent review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor! We are so happy you had a great stay and found the staff to provide exceptional service. I will congratulate them for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer!
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you have the opportunity to stay over at Delamar i Greenwich take it. It is even worth the trip from New York. Excellent staff that do its utmost to take care of you. The hotel is very elegant and has a perfect location close to Greenwich main street with good restuarnts and great shopping. The hotel restaurant is excellent. You even have the possibility to enjoy nearby beaches (one is reached by a short ferry trip from just opposite the hotel). Only drawback is that there is no swimmingpool but the hotel has a spa.

Room Tip: Get a room with harbour view and with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Your hotel is truly charming, elegantly appointed very comfortable.The staff is very
Friendly and accommodating, only wish I could have extended my stay.

Will be back hopefully in the not too distant future and will recommend the Delamar to
Friends. By the way are you open year round?

Yours truly
Marilyn Weinstein
Ps would love having a sauna in the spa

Room Tip: Room overlooking the harbor are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Ms. Weinstein, thank you so much for your lovely review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. We are indeed open all year round, in fact enjoying one of our suites with a fireplace during the winter months can be an extremely relaxing getaway. With regards to the sauna, we are looking into the feasibility of adding one as we speak, so thank you for the recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife & I stayed ae Delamar for our 10-year anniversary and every step of the way we had a positive experience. The staff was friendly and went the extra mile on our special night, the room nice, the property was all I could ask for. We had dinner at L'Escale where my only complaint was that despite being a hotel guest and a pretty big occassion they still couldn't reserve an outside table. All in all indefinitely return and hope for better weather on a Saturday morning to take the harbor cruise, we were bummed to miss it.

Room Tip: Pay for the water view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor! I was disappointed to hear you missed the complimentary weekend cruise as this is always a guest favorite. Unfortunately we can't control the weather, however since you live locally, please reach out to me directly and I will arrange for you to enjoy a cruise during another weekend this summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
dcoggins@thedelamar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I came to the Hotel for a spa treatment (massage) and it was wonderful. The scenery is beautiful, the staff at the hotel was wonderfully accommodating and it looked like an amazing place to stay. If you are in the area, the spa is small and the staff has a lot of regulars but they are excellent and if you can afford the hotel, I would definitely stay here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the Spa at Delamar. I will congratulate our dedictate team of professional therapists for their commitment to excellence and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had low expectations but after a 1 night stay, I was very impressed.

We stayed in room 116, harbor view with balcony.
On arrival, reception staff was lovely, gave us a map, explained about the complimentary extras etc.
the room, although furnished old fashioned, was very comfortable with a lovely balcony with table and 2 chairs and nice view.
The bed was very comfy, great pillows, bedding etc. I slept like a bear.
Elemis products in bathroom.

Staff are all wonderful.

The hotel is not cheap but you get a free breakfast. It is a simple breakfast but it worked for us.
We also took on the free harbor cruise which was wonderful.
There are free papers.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for harbor view. The rooms facing road looked sad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and managed to squeeze in the complimentary boat cruise around Greenwich Harbor during your 1 night visit! This is such a beautiful activity during the warm summer days.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
332 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
699 reviews
3.9 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
823 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Address: 500 Steamboat Rd, Greenwich, CT 06830-7120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range: $259 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning jewel for travelers with a taste for Old World style and bespoke services, Delamar Greenwich Harbor ranks among the most elegant boutique hotels in the country. With a prime location on the beautiful waterfront, this luxury hotel in Connecticut features 82 deluxe guest rooms and suites arrayed with luxurious, European-style furnishings, relaxing hues, and contemporary communications technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Hotel Greenwich Ct

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing