We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Great Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona - CLOSED

Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, American, Bar, European, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Urbane, sophisticated and lively, Barcelona Greenwich is chic fun and delicious food. Opened in 2001, Barcelona Greenwich has been featured on ABC News as one of the New York area's "hot spots," and in Connecticut Magazine as a three-star dining experience. Polished service from engaging servers in the evening gives way to a lively bar scene in the late hours. Barcelona Greenwich has a 60-seat party room accented by high ceilings for your catered event, and a newly renovated bar and dining room.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still a Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Barcelona is one of our favorite resaturants and dinner there last night showed why. Great food, reasonably priced , friendly service. Many restarants in the area charge $15 for a glass of wine, At Barcelona you can get a tasting flight of 3 (good) wines for $14. New on the menu was a wild boar tapas paired with a glass of sherry. Great - we had a second order. The new butternut squash tapas we had with the boar was also very good. The lobster risotto is filled with pieces of lobster and is also reasonably priced.
As I have said before, the restaurant later in the evening gets crowded and noisy but it's a lively,fun scene. If you want a quiet dinner, just go before 8 o'clock. No matter what time you go, you will be glad you did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c48gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
328 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went for lunch with a group of 30+ people - food was excellent. The bread was superb - for me always a sign of a good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester new york
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food was good, but service SLOW!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

On a business trip with an hour for lunch - the service and incredibly slow; we had to take our entrees to go - after 1.5 hours! However, if we had the time, it would have been a better experience. The crusty warm bread was delicious; potato leek soup was very hearty; tapas were excellent. The pink peppercorn dressing on the bibb salad was tasty, and a nice contrast to the chicken and almonds - something sweet (perhaps golden raisins?) would have set it off even more nicely. Even once we told the staff that we had time constraints, the process for paying and getting receipts was far too lengthy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rochestertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly and Tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ten of us had dinner reservations on a Thursday night for 7:00PM. That day we phoned to let them know we would be there around 7:30PM and they were fine with that. Upon our arrival we were immediately seated in a small room away from the mostly empty larger, main room. The waiter explained most of the menu. We had a lot of questions which he was able to answer. We decided on a $35 a person all you-can-eat tapas dinner. The waiter asked us what we would like and promised to bring out other items as well. The toasted bread and olive oil was well received. Among the tapas that were declared winners were toasted brussel sprouts, crispy (fried) calamari, empanadas, and sauteed shrimp in sherry. The braised short ribs was not a hit. We were not rushed and the servers were attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcs1Nyc_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I favor the Barcelona in Greenwich over the other ones. This location has the best service and it's not as loud. Parking is also really easy and free. My favorite tapas (beef empenadas and lobster risotto) and dessert (churros) are always on the menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing