We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your A Game”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelona - CLOSED

Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, American, Bar, European, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Urbane, sophisticated and lively, Barcelona Greenwich is chic fun and delicious food. Opened in 2001, Barcelona Greenwich has been featured on ABC News as one of the New York area's "hot spots," and in Connecticut Magazine as a three-star dining experience. Polished service from engaging servers in the evening gives way to a lively bar scene in the late hours. Barcelona Greenwich has a 60-seat party room accented by high ceilings for your catered event, and a newly renovated bar and dining room.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
198 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bring Your A Game”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Saturday night is party night at Barcelona. If you come after 8 pm be ready to wait at the bar for an hour after your reservation. The tapas are great, and the menu offers every tapa you can think. The service is friendly. Just around 11 pm DJ A-Game arrives and the place is transformed. He is the best DJ I've ever heard, hands down. Tables are cleared to make way for dancing. This used to be limited to a corner of the restaurant but that no longer cuts it, since the word got out. If you want to have fun in Greenwich on a Saturday night, this is the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaLeeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Visiting Greenwich for the first time and went to Barcelona on a recommendation from a friend who was here last year. Glad we did!
The service was outstanding and the food was really good as well. We ordered lots of tapas and they brought them out a few at a time which was great so we didn't feel overwhelmed with lots of plates all at once.
I would recommend Barcelona to anyone that is visiting Greenwich. Beware the noise though!
I must say again, the service was outstanding!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2010traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our Family Favorite”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Went to Barcelona with my daughter and son to celebrate both kids starting their careers after college, including my daughter heading out to Colorado with Teach For America. John the host and his staff always treat us like family, very welcome and comfortable.

The tapas are varied and always delicious, our favorites include the Calamari and the Potato Croquettas.

The wine list has great depth and variety, leaning towards Spanish (no sruprise) but offering something for every taste.

Could eat here every night and always find something to enjoy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TERACINGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We went with a large party and had reservations at 9pm. We did not sit until 10:30 and the food was not that great. The service was VERY slow even after making a complaint. They are VERY expensive as well. I would not go late at night to this place. More of a party atmosphere for drinks. Overall, not worth it.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Stay away if you ever want to eat”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Party of 10, reservations at 9pm Saturday. By 10pm, we still had not sat. Asked that they break our party up into 3 groups. 2 groups sat immediately, the last group (me included) waited till 10:30pm! We ended up walking out, what else could we have done? Hour and a half...! Hostess certainly didn't care, said they routinely overbook and that she isn't there during the day to stop them from accepting reservations. Manager was no show as well. --- This is the second time this happened at the same restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona also viewed

Greenwich, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing