We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local museum gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Museum

Bruce Museum
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Art and Science at the Bruce Museum in Greenwich, Connecticut.The Museum is open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 am to 5 pm and Sunday from 1 pm to 5 pm; closed Mondays and major holidays.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local museum gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fine local museum. Wonderful special exhibits, excellent natural history museum for kids. Lectures for adults and special programs for kids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local museum with interesting exhibits for adults and children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The Bruce Museum has more than initially meets the eye. Interesting hands on exhibits for both adults and children. There is a touch tank with sea creatures for the little ones as well as a beautiful playground across the street. Nice place to picnic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mabsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Bruce Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The exhibits at The Bruce Museum are ever changing which encourages visits more than once every year. One of my favorite exhibits was the work of Linda McCarthy (1st wife of Paul McCarthy – legendary member of The Beatles). It is worth spending an afternoon at the museum to stimulate your mind and soul.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EMoonDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun morning or afternoon outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fun for kids and adults too. Small and manageable to see in an hour or two. Interactive exhibitions for kids to enjoy and learn new things.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another great exhibit, actually 4 of them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We love going to CT and nearly always stop at this museum as it is one of the first places, Exit 3 out of NY. There is always something wonderful to view there but this visit, we loved all 4. We've seen I Create, the work of High school students, previously. It is remarkable how talented these young people are; very inspiring. Dr Kelly's print collection was lots of fun as we used the magnifying glasses provided to see the details in prints by several very famous artists. The Eggshiibition was a unique exhibition on assorted eggs; the elephant bird egg was awesome. I had to go look that up later. Kathleen Gilje's painting were incredible as each was a copy of a famous piece or pieces featuring modern touches or different faces, some her own. They were beautiful and thought provoking with little twists. All were DON'T MISS. They have other ongoing natural history things to see and a lovely little shop as well. Unfortunately our grandkids couldn't come this time but would have loved it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing