We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Action Wildlife Foundation

Action Wildlife Foundation
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Goshen
Attraction details
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had guests from out of the US and decided to take them to the AWF. I was surprised about how interesting it was. It was warm that day and many of the animals were not visible. Go when it is cool!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must on your to-do list if you love nature and wild animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

That being said, if you enjoy seeing or bringing your kids to see a mind-blowing variety of exotic animals in caged area after cage in a typical "zoo" setting, then skip this. We have visited twice. Go early and plan to spend the day. Pack a cooler - lunch, water bottles, hats, sunscreen, etc. (like any park outing). The taxidermy display is excellent and is in a spacious, lifelike setting. You can spend a good 1/2 hour or more inside, checking out the different species, etc. If you are up for it (landscape in the park is kind of rolling hills), bring a wagon for the littlest ones. We spent a whole day this way, walking along the roads and stopping to admire the different species. My child delighted in watching the goats climb, seeing the gigantic face of a buffalo up close, admiring the enormous horns of the watutsi cattle. We even got to see the water buffalo take a dip in the water and chase the black swan as a little joke (she got away just fine and squawked at him from the shore). If you have the day to laze around and see animals just doing their thing in a natural setting, this place is great! In the fall we tossed a few tiny apples that fell off a tree outside the american elks area over the fence for them and they enjoyed gobbling them up (they were already eating ones that fell into their area as well) and sitting on the grass watching the zebra for a long time. The wild boars are my fave. The drive-through safari is nice - mostly saw more deer, goats, and emu or ostrich - we didn't go for it on our 2nd trip but I would do it again, you can stop anywhere, get out and take pictures, etc.The picnic area is wonderful and shady, and the playground is awesome - the "big kids" slides are actually fun for adults, they are so big! The cost may seem high but if you enjoy doing the things I talked about, it is a wonderful day trip. We will be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WeMeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for children and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Action wildlife is an opportunity for families to see a variety of animals upclose and in a beautiful country setting. Great place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sweetsherrilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where did the animals go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

While inside on the roads we did not see animal grandkids kept asking where are all the animals. I said sleeping. We then went Inside the petting area the kids loved that part of the trip

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sewingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice stop but not cheap.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

For a family of 5, it is not cheap. $8 per kid & $10 per adult. What you get is a really nice play set by the museum and a nice display of stuffed animals in the museum. All were hunted by the owner, Jim Mazzarelli. From there you drive around the property to see animals in different areas. This can be hit or miss, last year we saw very little of the animals. This year they were all over and close to the fence. The petting zoo is located by the front, mostly goats with one baby deer. You can buy feed for a $1 per cup or a bottle of "milk" for $3. Kids loved feeding the goats, get the bottle it was worth it! All told nice stop if you have never been, but not worth a second visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Action Wildlife Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Action Wildlife Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing