We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood

J. Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Description: J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Blue potato chips & chocolate velvet cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy dinner for two or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner seven days a week, beginning at 4pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the restaurant we met in over 5 years ago. Wine selection awesome, food excellent (especially steaks) gotta get the potato chips & blue cheese...worth the calories.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank VinoLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    103
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Connecticut.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

If given the option to rate one place above excellent, this is that place. Every item on the menu is excellent, but the steaks are sublime. The Kansas City cut is my favorite.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best Restaurant in Glastonbury, Ct. !!!! Our family has been going there for years.
We look forward to our dinner every time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juner122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Don't know what all the fuss is about. The dining room reminded us of an ice cream shop that is now out of business - open, low booths, no privacy. Our booth in the bar was cozy but you could see where they stopped painting the wood on the wall. Our waitress had a robotic script. The bus boy tried to take our bread tray away as we were still eating the bread. Then he left the empty tray for the entire meal. The chicken/potato dish was way too salty. The risotto was toothy, almost crunchy. Then the waitress brought over the dessert tray AFTER we clearly stated we did not want dessert. Pricey for what you get. Disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LifeinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful steaks, salad, appetizers. Wonderful skilled waitstaff. Went on a Thursday night and it was lively and fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to J. Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing