We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pond House Grille”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pond House Grille - CLOSED

Pond House Grille
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Pond House Grille is a new pulse in the dining scene in Glastonbury. The New American Eclectic cuisine will delight your culinary senses. The focus is on fresh ingredients inspired from cuisines reaching the far corners of the globe. Although the food is the star of the show, we aim to provide you with a completely enjoyable experience from start to finish. Enjoy the culinary delights with a bottle of wine off of our carefully selected wine list or a trendy drink from the bar. All the while sitting comfortably in our dining room which is as eclectic and stylish as the food. Our porch will invite you to enjoy the beautiful weather with outside dining. Knowledgeable and attentive service will culminate this meal into one not soon forgotten.
Avon, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pond House Grille”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was the first time we had tried dinner at the Pond House Grille. Some friends had recommended it but when we went on the Saturday before Christmas, it provided an acceptable experience. The food was good and well presented but the service was slow.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What you would expect from an upscale Glastonbury eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went here for brunch in mid -January. The place is well decorated, and the food was pretty standard for the area, nothing too special. The staff seemed confused as to why two twenty-somethings were there as it seems they cater to an older crowd, but weren't particularly offended by our presence. I would come back if I were bringing my parents or grandparents but probably not with a younger crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Banquet hall = Ho-hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Attended an event here and was surprised, given the reviews I'd read, that it was rather ho-hum. Service was spotty - some staff were great, while others were clearly inexperienced.

Food was ok, nothing special to write home about, and for a buffet setup, there weren't enough seconds of everything. Even the chocolate fountain looked sad after the first 20 minutes or so (insufficient chocolate to keep the fountain cascading fully on all sides).

Decor was ok, not bad but not superb by any means (wallpaper border peeling a little bit in some places).

I'm just glad I wasn't paying...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ten of us (all couples in our early 50's) decided we wanted to go out on New Year's Eve instead of doing the usual house party. The Pond House had a dinner, dancing, open bar special so we decided to give it shot. It turned out to be a great evening! The bartenders and wait staff were excellent, the drinks were great, and the DJ was tons of fun. Dinner was a set menu with a choice of either filet or salmon - both were very good. While not inexpensive, the price was reasonable and we all had a great time. I would definitely go back for dinner and for next New Year's Eve!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cab1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food, but they try hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have been here a few times. Once the food was great but the server was incompetent. Another time the server couldn't have been more helpful, but the food was disappointing. Other times they get them both right. It's worth a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pond House Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing