We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Pub”
Review of Birch Hill Tavern

Birch Hill Tavern
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bolton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local Pub”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Birch Hill Tavern is a great place to get together with friends and family. There a two parts to the restaurant. If you want the traditional sit down restaurant there is a separate area for dining. The pub area is in the front part with a great bar and high top tables. I have come here with friends out for a beer and burgers, with my wife for a special dinner and with my family for a casual dinner. Great burgers, quite a variety of microbrews that change frequently. Also some very tasty main dishes, although I think these are a bit overpriced. I had the Short Rib ravioli which were delicious, but $22 for pasta is a bit much. Last night I had the beet salad $8 and it was amazing. Highly recommended. My daughter had the Rex burger, topped with a fried egg and avocado perfectly cooked to medium. All in all my wife and I keep coming back because we like the atmosphere, service and food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globaldude_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great low-key, neighborhood tavern”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went on a Sunday evening, just getting in town on business. I came from Glastonbury and, honestly, didn't expect to find anything good the farther out I got. But the place is very clean and cozy, great neighborhood pub feel. Had a burger and fries, which were good. Apparently they're big on craft beers, the drafts change quite often and the bartender was extremely knowledgeable. Overall, I was extremely pleased, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find in an unexpected location!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have been to this restaurant twice and had a great experience each time. Food is delicious - shrimp taco and shrimp quesadilla. Also had the bread pudding which was a killer! Only downside is that it is noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim62Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Frist visit ”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed the visit. Atmosphere is casual. Decor seasoned wood everywhere. Our server Lauren D. was a true professional. She knew the menu inside out and made very helpful suggestions. Our meals were very good. I had the scallops my wife the lobster Mac and cheese. Salad and appetizer great too.

Helpful?
Thank Thefoodcritic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noise level unacceptable”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The noise level in this bar/restaurant made it impossible to have any sort of conversation. And, as another reviewer wrote, it was so bad that at times it was painful. There is a wall separating the bar area from the dining area but it is open at the top and sides--not a sound buffer at all.

When we first went to BHT the food was excellent--crab cakes were extraordinary. The menu changed after that, with only very ordinary food like wings and burgers. It is just down the street from us and we would love to enjoy going there, but unfortunately will be choosing to drive a little farther when we go out.

I don't recall the level of service; the quality of the food was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyutaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Hill Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Birch Hill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing