We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
191
13
3
2
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
13
3
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter rooma wonderful staysmall weddingother guestsbreakfast is servedrooms are spacioustop floornext morningpatwaynecomfortkeuriglinensbrideboston
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 217 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I was anxious to see the place after seeing website pictures, but was taken aback at the pure genius and vision of the design aesthetic. The Inn is a late 1700s traditional building that has been thoroughly renovated and updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler.

There are four spacious rooms, each decorated to suggest one of the four seasons. All rooms have luxury amenities, elegant bathrooms with spa showers, and designer fixtures and organic bath products.

The sleeping areas have upscale pillow top beds, that are dressed with luxury linens and comfort pillows. Also the rooms all have flat screen TVs and gas fireplaces, as well as a dutiful air conditioner all operated by remote controls.

All the bells and whistles were present for a comfortable stay, but, with her breathtaking design sensibilities, owner, Pat Brubaker, takes us to a plateau, rare in our B&B stay experience. The design choices are bold and thrilling. Color palettes and design details reflect the seasonal influence and accent furniture provide surprising pops of color and shapes.

We spent an entire weekend here, starting off in the 3rd floor Spring Rain Suite for our wedding night, and then moved to the Summer room for Sunday evening wind down. We loved both rooms.

Each morning we had a fantastic full breakfast made with fresh, organic ingredients and gourmet coffee, fresh baked scones and fresh squeezed juice. The Dining Room was stunning and every detail, from the china to the flatware, was carefully selected. Attention to detail was impressive.

Our small wedding celebration for six was elegant and every detail was tended to. The ceremony was tailored to our wishes by JP, Judy Thompson, arranged by Pat.

We were so pleased with our event, and our stay. Thanks so much, Pat, Wayne and Laura!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MystiqueLaRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Pat & Wayne will make your stay here a very comfortable experience.

For the practical amongst you the following are present by default:
+ clean and richly decorated throughout
+ easy access to Glastonbury with good parking
+ 5 mins walk to a plethora of restaurants (no joke)
+ super rooms with comfortable furnishings and great shower/bathroom facilities
+ Tea & Coffee available in your room - I recommend the Thai Latte for a great way to start your day.

Once again we found a place to stay that is better appreciated with more than a single nights stay. Not only is Glastonbury a great town to get to know but The River Valley Inn is a very welcome place to re-coop after your travels. Our room was so comfortable and homely that it really was difficult to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danziger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A place for a weekend get away or a place to stay for business or leisure. We had a wonderful stay in our updated but very well appointed historic room. The fireplace kept us warm and romantic. alot of wonderful touches from the organic soaps to the delicious and healthy breakfast.
Pat is an artist so you can imagine how beautiful this home is. I definately would reccomend this B&B.Fondly,
Nancy and Roger

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very delightful B&B with great attention to detail by owners, enjoyed our 4 night stay. Rooms tastefully decorated, and comfortable. Breakfast varied every morning and imaginative dishes.
Abe and Judith

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drabetheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Thank you to Wayne and Pat for providing a wonderful, yet all-too-brief, stay at the inn. You have a beautiful house. My room on the top floor was more space than one man could ever need, but it was nice having the elbow room to relax. I enjoyed walking down the street from the inn to the local restaurants and shopping there in Glastonbury. When traveling to or through the Hartford area, I will definitely opt for this town, rather than the urban center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews