We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour Is The Best”
Review of Max Fish

Max Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Max Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: When you're in the mood for good service and great seafood be sure to check out Max Fish, the newest of the Max Restaurant Groups fine dining establishments. True to the Max Restaurant Groups mission statement, this restaurant embodies an uncompromising commitment to quality service, style and superb cuisine that made the Max Group famous. The menu at Max Fish features a wide array of the finest seafood and raw bar items, made from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients, with something sure to please every member of your group. The Shark Bar at Max Fish also offers a lighter variety of seafood and Max classics in an exciting and up tempo environment. Max Fish is sure to offer you a pleasant and unique dining experience every time you visit. Please stop by soon to see our beautiful new restaurant!
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour Is The Best”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Top quality food for pennies. Everything on the Happy Hour menu, which is very extensive, is excellent. Maybe smaller size but no compromise on quality or presentation. Heartily recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomBoyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    103
    38
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Max Continues To Get it Right”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are, in general, fans of the Max Restaurant Group, and eat frequently in various Max restaurants. We hadn't been to Max Fish for a few years, however, and boy -- are we glad we came back!

Six of us enjoyed a great dinner and exceptional service on a recent Saturday night. As a non-fish eater I could wish for a few more non-fish choices on the menu (only two), but after all, they do make it clear this place is all about fish. I had their chicken dish; it was very good. All in our party had different entrees and heaps of oysters to start; all are very pleased with their meals. ( I'm told the monk fish was fabulous.) We were also brought an excellent bread basket -- warm, assorted choices.

But here'e what puts the experience over the top -- at a restaurant with these prices its fair to expect good food. But Max Fish provides some of the most excellent service we've had in a while. The entire staff is very professional and all clearly know and understand their role. (Kudos to whomever provides the staff training.) Everything is done promptly and gracefully; attentively without being intrusive. There was always someone there when you wished there would be, but never when you didn't. And here's a nice touch we appreciated -- the manager brought our bottle of (pricey!) wine to the table, decanted it into a lovely crystal pitcher, and made just the right amount of small talk about its merits with the fellow who had selected it. Now that's a good way to take some of the sting out of the price tag!

Max -- you've done it again, and we'll be back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0ntFenceMeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my second review of this restaurant, once should be enough but our second experience at this place was even better than this first. We have only have had brunch there but must also try dinner I am sure it will be just as wonderful. We started with the seafood tower great selection and as fresh as it gets, then Lobster quiche, chopped salad with shrimp on top, and filet bennedit,
.Three different choice then on our first visit and all great !
Dont miss this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent night!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were having a difficult time deciding on what were wanted that evening, and after throwing a few options around, agreed upon Max Fish in Glastonbury. We were so glad that we did. Even their tap water was fantastic. Our server, Mark, was so knowledgeable about the menu, and his suggestions for drink pairings was perfect. Try to save room for their desserts and after dinner drinks as they were also great! It was our first time to this Max establishment, but we will certainly be back again. So good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, CT
Level Contributor
314 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“"Max" for maximum satisfaction!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yep! That's right! Max Fish delivers "maximum satisfaction" for any and all seafood lovers. The atmosphere is one that sounds like people are that having a good meal with friends or family and having a good time. The open spacious seating and bar area accommodate small and large groups. Beer battered fish was good (although I'm not fond of the batter) and the french fries were dee-lish! My companion had the crab cake sandwich and enjoyed it as well. Dessert was a key lime pie (I had a forkful or two, or three...) All in all, good place to go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Fish also viewed

 

Been to Max Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing