We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience - not good but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Farmington
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mixed experience - not good but not bad”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I booked a business trip late, 2 days before, and I ended you paying over $200 per room for three of us. Paying that much usually provides a great experience unless in the large cities. I expect the pay for the large cities. I was less then impressed with an aging hotel and a foot print that had us in a separated wing. What I found odd, they had rooms in the main building when I figured it out later, too late, two of us were already in our rooms. I told them the third person was coming very late and they offered to put him in the main building. I asked if that had been possible for all of us? The response was yes.... For one night I was not going to move into the main building. So we walked back to the restaurant to get dinner and the service was good. The food was fair and pricing was average for a hotel restaurant. The rooms were good size and again the building was showing age in its elevators, pathways crumbling, carpet slightly worn and dim lighting in the room and in the halls. Staff was very attentive and that was worth some value but not to the level of the price. Many other hotels in the area that can serve the purpose for less and the amenities were not worth the extra.
So it’s not a great experience so far but not to bad either. The next morning I had the need to print and amend some information I was using for a presentation. I went to the business center and logged in. It charges .85 per minute for the PC and .15 per page for printing. OK not to bad but at $200 a night! and charges for the use of a PC for a few minutes?? Really! But there is also a minimum of $5 to get started. I didn’t want to walk to the room, to far, so I paid. And then the printer application locked and I had to start the printing over. $15 for that little change… I guess I am use to the hotels its free and easy to get it done.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    164
    92
    33
    23
See reviews for
145
53
16
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here while attending a wedding. I am meticulous about checking for cleanliness and room smells. The rooms were clean, no malodorous scents, food was great, my asthma was happy! That is what let's me know how clean the rooms are, and my asthma was fine! We did have an event: while sleeping, the fire alarm went off and the room across the hall started flooding into our room. We called the front desk for help and started packing our stuff before our room flooded. The front desk attendant (it was the middle of the night) came with a baggage cart and helped us move rooms. She had the key all ready and rolled up her sleeves to help us. She went above and beyond to make sure we were moved, set and happy! Wow! was totally impressed! We love staying at Marriott properties and this was no exception!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just stayed here for Business end of August 2011. I come here frequently for business with Pratt & Whitney, located in the same park. This hotel was built primarily to service all of the surrounding business head-quarters in this lush forested business park.

To name a few.. The Hartford insurance, Otis Elevators, Carrier air conditioning & Pratt & Whitney jet engines.
From my past architectural schooling, I can tell this property was built around 1970. They own oodles of property around the complex with walking trails and such and they do keep it up very fairly. Rooms are hit and miss. This last time I was not too pleased. Room was smaller, but oh well it’s just a place to lay my head....right.

They have two pools, one indoor, one outdoor, very nice. Lounge good, fair prices compared to other Marriott’s. Food....Don't get their Pizza, Yikes! Stick with general faire. Last time I came in 2010, the Sushi was actually not bad, which I think is a huge compliment coming from me... a west coast sushi aficionado from Portland.

The Staff is very, very, good. Helpful and good resources for local info like restaurants and such. Kudos to you all!!
One last note, I find it interesting (I just found out) that I can book a King room on their website, cheaper than the special corporate rate I get through my company. WTF???

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great older property. Rooms were renovated recently. Had a great dinner in the restaurant including sushi! Staff was all friendly and professional. I look forward to returning. Only negative - pool /spa area is showing it's age.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonP11971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The front desk/management staff at this location was EXCEPTIONAL. Truly, they are doing the best they can with a terribly old, worn, smelly, dirty hotel. I arrived late on a business trip and had a couple issues with the first two rooms I was assigned.

There are two wings to the hotel and the "East" side reeks of dampness in the hallways, and the rooms aren't much better. It's been a long time since I've been at a Marriott property that was so unimpressive and dated. Old carpets, bathroom fixtures and furniture in my first room - the dressers, desk and bed were scuffed and beat up and the carpet was filthy. Room #2 was similar, but the 3rd room I was showed to (in another section of the hotel, which smelled better) seemed to have been updated in the last 5-7 years.

The management was excessively apologetic and did all they could to take care of the issues. Sadly, the property just doesn't give them much to work with. I decided on this location vs. downtown based on price, and it simply was not worth it. Seems like once a year I need to have this sort of experience to remember why it is that I lean on TA reviews prior to booking, and that I can't just trust that because it's a Marriott it's a good place to stay. Again - staff = EXCELLENT. Property = icky.

Room Tip: My experience is that the further you are from the pool the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I'm a business traveler and this Marriott is just old. It was nothing special, room smelled moldy, and bathroom was the size of a small closet. My favorite was the previous
occupants dental floss which was on the wall of the shower. Gross.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finztotheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I just stayed at the Marriott because of my loss of power from Hurricane Irene. I had a very nice and quiet corner room. The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. We also had a nice breeze from the window (which opened widely). The bar and restaurant were very good. They also had a sushi bar which looked amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethebeach1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
250 reviews
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Farmington

Property: Hartford Marriott Farmington
Address: 15 Farm Springs Road, Farmington, CT 06032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartford Marriott Farmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable experience at the award-winning Hartford Marriott Farmington. Our Farmington hotel's location in Connecticut is ideal - moments from West Hartford and top destinations like West Farms Mall, Wadsworth Atheneum and Mark Twain House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hartford Marriott Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hartford Farmington Hotel Farmington
Marriott Farmington
Farmington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing