We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chineese In Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Tea Chinese Restaurant

Green Tea Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Chineese In Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is always good and consistent. The staff is friendly. There isn't a better chineese restaurant in the valley. We go there quite often. The chicken chow mein is the best item on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield County
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Quick service, food is better than most Chinese outlets we know.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food Very Good. Service Very Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

They seemed very disorganized. Place was under construction. Not hat busy inside but take-out seemed to be booming. We stood for quite a while before being seated then waited a long time for someone to take our drink order and then get drinks. Service person was pleasant enough. Menu has a real authentic food section - steamed pork ribs with black beans, a sure sign of real Chinese food. We ordered crispy chicken with vegetables thinking it would be chicken deep fried with Chinese broccoli. Instead it turned out to be a filet of breaded chicken over stir fried veggies. Shrimp with asparagus was good as well as shredded chicken over fried noodles. Noodles were angel hair style and soggy, not crispy. Hot sake was luke-warm. Seven and seven came in wine glass. Overall food good but be prepared for long wait. Will go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A weird atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were bought here on a trip out with friends. The entire time we felt liike we were in some kind of wierd movie. The Place is always Dead. Very few customers, the lighting is very sketchy and strange and the over all cleanliness was meak ....We would not go back just out of fear that we'd get really sick. It just seemed like that kind of place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mousejunkiemillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST TOM YUM SOUP IN CONNCECTICUT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have been eating at Green Tea since I stumbled upon it three years ago and I attempt to get there atleast once a month. If you are a Tom Yum Soup fan, you will probably agree with me that it is the best you have ever had. Every time I come in I order atleast one or two quarts to go. It is perfectly spicy, contains one peice of chicken, scallop, shrimp, with pineapples, tomatoes, mushrooms, with fresh cilantro a hint of lemongrass...the spice is there and its delicious. I usually cool my mouth off with a bite from the beef letuce wrap...very good. Folllowed up with some crab rangoon or maybe some steamed dumplings. Can't go wrong with either. I would say I have tried 80% of the menu; however 90% of the time I go I usually get the mala duck strips entre or the firecracker chicken entree, sometimes I just get both because they are that d*mn good. Not to mention, the prices are extremely reasonable! Sometimes I get my check and I am baffled how much food I got for so little! Should be nominated for Statewide Best Value this year!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FineDiner210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Tea Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Green Tea Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing