We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Marriott Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Marriott Standards”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location was perfect for our teenage sons baseball tournament at CCSU. The staff was courteous yet very over worked and the hotel was understaffed for a very busy weekend in June. For example, the one person working the Sunday breakfast, made omlets, bussed tables, and rang up checks. When asked about this he said he stepped up to help out but was actually the manger of housekeeping. This hotel did not live up to the standards of the Marriotts we are used too. We were disappointed with the cleanliness of our room and the bathroom door lock was completely broken. It was the second room they put us in so we didn't complain. The first one was a handicapped room on the first floor between the pool, elevators, staircase and exit. Oh and the air conditioning transformers were out the window!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Courtyard Hartford Farmington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mamalovestravel,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the multiple issues you encountered that resulted in your disappointment with your stay. As a loyal Marriott customer, I’m disappointed we didn’t meet and exceed your expectations. I have shared this information with the leadership team at our daily meeting. I would love to have the opportunity to further discuss your stay and set up a return visit so we have the opportunity to provide you with the level of service and accommodations that you have come to expect as a loyal Marriott customer.

Kind Regards,

Richard Pennyman
General Manager
860-521-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
64
16
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel appears new, well furnished, easy to get to from the freeway, GREAT staff, but I just don't get why chains are going "on the cheap" when building their sites. I would recommend staying on the top floor. Inevitably I seem to end up below a guest who needs to do aerobics, or move furniture at 2:00 am. Why get a hotel room to move furniture for an hour? Maybe I don't understand today's travelers. None the less, I called the desk to ask if I could move up for my second night. Can't go back to sleep now some two hours later, so my advice is shoot for the top floor if you want to sleep during the night's stay. Otherwise a nice property at a good rate.

Room Tip: TOP FLOOR. Marriott got the cheap 3/8ths plywood for this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadAgnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's a shame when a brand doesn't live up to its promise.

In this case, Marriott, well known for its "no smoking" policy, fails. And that failure ultimately hurts Marriott because, in our case, an otherwise good weekend experience was entirely overshadowed by cigarette and "other" smoke from several guest rooms constantly in the air on our floor and unavoidably vented into other guest rooms. For those of us unlucky enough to be sensitive to smoke, that makes for a miserable experience. We'll come back to that.

First, the good: Good location near good amenities, the hotel is in reasonable condition with comfortable furnishings and, importantly, one of the more comfortable beds we have found in these past few months of travel.

Apart from our checkout experience, the front desk staff were excellent to work with, genuinely engaged and genuinely responsive. The lady who managed the lobby bar was outstanding in her efforts to assist us to organise dinners to be delivered by local restaurants. She is a winner.

Lobby amenities are better than we expected at a Courtyard, and, all in all, there is much to commend this hotel. BUT...

Despite all this, we are left with an extremely negative experience because of the pervasive nature of the smoke from the various guest rooms. We found the hotel response to be lacking both with regard to the cigarette smoke and the "other" smoke. Spray scent over-sprayed in the halls only adds to the problem. Not our idea of a proper response.

On checkout, when we received the familiar "how was your stay" question, we raised the smoking issue and were met only with "sorry about that." Not a great way to say goodbye to a guest.

The verdict? an otherwise lovely and enjoyable hotel experience significantly marred by a fundamental issue. If you are going to be and advertise "Non-smoking" you must actively promote the promise and deal decisively with offenders.

Room Tip: Definitely a high floor, away from very noisy ice machine and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor-and-Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Courtyard Hartford Farmington, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Doctor and Lawyer,

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize that we didn’t exceed your expectations on all facets of your stay. I will share you feedback with the leadership team at our next staff meeting.
I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you personally to review and resolve the issues you encountered to your satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Richard Pennyman
General Manager
860-521-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Came in town for a college graduation at Wesleyan (which is right down the road). Could not have picked a better location and hotel. It was exceptional from the staff to the room to the location. It couldn't be beat. I would definitely recommend anyone coming to Hartford for business or college graduations to take a serious look at this hotel. Very clean and super location. We had issues with the cooler in our room and the staff had it fixed pronto. One of the best in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Courtyard Hartford Farmington, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Skip W,

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I’m glad our hotel was able to help you enjoy attending such a special occasion as a graduation. Please come back and see us again if you are in the area, we’d love to have you back.

Kind Regards,

Richard Pennyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was clean. Equipment up to date. The staff was very help full. My room was on the first floor near the stairs and the exit door. The hotel has very heavy doors that tend to close with a loud noise. My only issue was the last room to be rented should be on the first floor by the stairway and exit door. On prom night people went in and out ALL night!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnOurTwoWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Courtyard Hartford Farmington, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear OnOurTwoWheels,

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay. I very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note to your feedback regarding the doors on the first floor. I hope if you are in the area again you will be our guest. We would be delighted to serve you again

Kind Regards,

Richard Pennyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is close to restaurants, shopping. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is perfect, they can make most anything.
Very good exercise room. Small bar with limited selection but OK. Felt safe staying in this location.
I would stay here again when I travel to the this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here with my family...Andy the night manager is amazing!!! Very helpful...very friendly..took care of some roudiness from an adjoining room for us immediately....staff was so friendly and helpful..highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, General Manager at Courtyard Hartford Farmington, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stillen,

I want to thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I plan to share your comments at our daily team huddle. Thank you again and come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Pennyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
3.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 6 in Farmington
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
3.4 mi away
West Hartford Inn
West Hartford Inn
#1 of 2 in West Hartford
99 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hartford Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hartford Farmington

Property: Courtyard Hartford Farmington
Address: 1583 Southeast Road, Farmington, CT 06032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hartford Farmington 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most convenient of Farmington, CT hotels, Courtyard Hartford Farmington has been completely renovated. Situated across the street from popular Westfarms Mall, we're only 6.5 Miles from downtown Hartford. Offering redesigned rooms with new furnishings, flat-screen TVs, microwaves and mini-fridges. Travelers will love our new lobby with comfy seating and free WiFi. The lobby is highlighted by our Bistro offering healthy breakfast options, Starbucks coffee, delicious dinner menu and evening bar service. Convenient onsite amenities include an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and 24-hour Market with snacks, sodas and sundries. Thanks to our 998 sq. Ft. Of function space and close proximity to United Technologies, Hartford Healthcare, Uconn Health Center, CCSU, Carrier, we're the perfect choice for business travel. Vacationers love our location within driving distance of Lake Compounce and Six Flags New England. Stay connected, comfortable and productive at Courtyard Farmington hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hartford Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hartford Farmington Hotel Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
Farmington Courtyard
Farmington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing