We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete disappointment, I couldn't eat anything there!”

P.F. Chang's China Bistro
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Farmington
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment, I couldn't eat anything there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The only thing good about PF Chang's is that they are at least aware of people with food allergies. The only downside to that is that you are allergic to shellfish you CANNOT eat anything at this restaurant!!! I have enjoyed Chinese food everywhere, but they apparently put Oyster sauce in nearly everything, including meals that should not have oyster sauce. The menu they gave me that was safe to eat had literally one appetizer and like 4 or 5 meals. I picked one of the meals and it was just aweful, I really like spicy food, but it was all spice and absolutely no flavor! I have never sent anything back before, but I absolutely hated it and they gave me something that was at least ok. It still wasn't great, and I could of gotten a meal at a third of the price down the road from my house that was better. My husband who has no allergies did not like his meal either. He said the first few bites were excellent, and then as you kept eating it all you tasted was the oyster sauce. Half way through his meal he couldn't eat anymore of it, and said it was overwhelming. So many local chinese places that are so much better for the price!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    8
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed for the second time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went to this Farmington ct location last evening and was disappointed when the beef in our Mongolian dish was unchewable!. I had raved about this restaurant to many friends but am sorry I did since I certainly don't want them to have a bad experience due to my recommendation! I have since read other reviews about this restaurant on various sites on the Internet and found "poor to fair" to be the norm. I will have to decide if I will return to Changs in the future and order something else. I would like to give them another chance ??

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shu075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good food, good allergy policy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our daughter has a nut allergy and she normally can't eat chinese food because we don't trust that there won't be nut oil in the entrees and alot of time the staff doesn't speak enough English to convey our concerns about the allergy. PF Changs has a nut free menu and the food is not prepared in the same area with nuts. They take allergies very seriously. Plus the food is really good. We love the the chicken lettuce wraps and the moo shoo pork. The steamed dumplings are also excellent. The staff is always very nice. It gets quite busy there on weekends so you might want to make a reservation. You can do that on their website.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great chain, excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Party of six: two children with parents and grandparents.
This is one of the finest PF Chang's locations I have visited, having been to other stores in Honolulu, Colorado, Boston, Las Vegas, and Austin. Phenomenal service from exuberant waitstaff, and excellent food as always. Decor is modern and chic, without overdoing the Chinese angle or being overly pretentious.
My wife had the Asian Grilled Norwegian Salmon, which was delicious and fresh. I had the Kung Pao shrimp, which was quite good if a little too salty. Grandpa had the pepper steak and could not say enough good things about it. Grammy had the Shanghai shrimp with garlic sauce -- no complaints. Kids had the Baby Buddha's feast and actually ate the vegetables. They also liked the hinged baby chopsticks, which I had not seen before at PF Chang's.

It was pricy, but worth it for a very nice family dinner with options for everyone. Even if you are not a fan of Chinese food per se, my guess is that you will find something to like here. Oh yeah, the desserts are incredible -- we had the Banana Spring Rolls and the Great Wall of Chocolate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great choices for vegetarians and vegans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited this PF Changs on a recent Saturday night. Our party of seven included 3 vegans, two vegetarians, and two omnivores. As always, the choices were many and the food delicious. The service was attentive and prompt, and the decor pleasant. My only complaint...it was COLD in there. I wish I had brought a sweater. We always seek out a PF Changs when we travel (this one was half an hour from where we were staying) because we can count on a great meal there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's China Bistro also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's China Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing