We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful new England experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farmington Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful new England experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are looking for a charming new England get away this is it. This is an older place but very well kept. The room was very clean and comfortable. The decor was classic new England but not stuffy and ornate. The free breakfast was in a quaint little dining room with a lot of choices. We would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyejimDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    72
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
55
66
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
262 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value. It's clean, and in very good shape. The room had very comfortable beds, strong AC, and furniture that was in very good shape and of reasonable taste. (ok, the four-poster queen was overwhelming as furniture goes - drop the posts and they would have been fine - sufficient space, just visually too big). The beds are among the most comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel in a long time. Room was quiet, even with kids staying next door the last night.

Minor nits - had trouble finding enough outlets in the room for normal business gear - e.g. laptop, phone, camera need to be charged, overnight. The breakfast isn't really all that good - went out after the first morning. Room could have used another lamp. But given the price these are just nits. Were it more expensive I might drop the rating one level on the breakfast, but the value is really very, very good.

Convenient to West Hartford, Bristol. Reasonably convenient to Northwest CT - e.g. Litchfield, about 30 minutes. Kent - about an hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodledoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Farmington Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent visit. We are very happy that you found the room very comfortable and quiet. In regards to your recommendations, we have added additional lamps in all the rooms as well as increased the wattage to provide better lighting. Also, a Charge Port has been added to all the rooms which adds two additional outlets and two USB charge ports at the desk area. In addition we will evaluate the breakfast to see if there are some changes that can be made to enhance the selections. Again, thank you for passing along your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Situate,R.I.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved this place. The decor is traditional,and warm. The rooms were clean,pretty,and the beds so comfortable. Their staff was warm,friendly,and helpful. We came here to be close to lake compounce,we are not familiar with the area.....we loved Farmington!! The Italian restaurant next door was awesome. Come stay here it is so worth it!:)

Room Tip: If you want a non commercial place,this place is it. Very pretty rooms,inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night.. reception busy with a wedding party and provided basic polite check in. Could have been warmer and more gracious and welcoming. Room was clean with blue and white Asian accessories and some antique like furniture. Pretty. Breakfast included in price of room...good selection of cereals fruit you make waffles and coffee. Location convenient to Farmington valley.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Farmington Inn reminds me of staying at several other, older hotels that probably saw a grander time. I rated the hotel very good, but it did have a couple of things that made me debate between average and very good.

Back to the grand dame-ness of the Farmington Inn. The Inn reminds me of the Williamsburg Inn in Williamsburg, VA and the Lake Lure Inn in Lake Lure, NC. Each of those inns were probably among the finest accommodations at one time, and each shares a personality with its location that isn't usually replicated in modern hotels.

I found the facilities clean and comfortable for the most part. We were en route to Canada and booked on Priceline.com maybe an hour before we arrived. Immediately after finding out where we were staying, I called to request a non-smoking king. My reservation had not yet arrived, but the front desk staff took note and honored our request, having our room waiting when we arrived.

My only real concern is that although we had a non-smoking room, there were times when we could smell smoke. It wasn't smoke as if someone had smoked in the room, but more like smoke from somewhere, perhaps even outside a window, had seeped in. The bathroom also featured a circular toilet, as opposed to an oval one, and I find an oval toilet is much more comfortable. The hall floors weren't the quietest ever, but it IS an older property. Most guests walked with their neighbors in mind.

The included breakfast was good: breads, hard-cooked eggs, waffles, and sausages. Good coffee. We hoped to find a snack before bed but didn't want to venture out. Fruit and cookies are provided in the lobby, and the basement features basic vending products.

Overall, we were quite happy with the hotel, especially considering the bargain price we got.

Room Tip: If it's an exceptionally warm day, you may want to call ahead and ask that the a/c be started be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdRockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have never been expect how bad experience I had with this hotel.i booked the room throw hotels.com for king suite they gave me king I was upset enough only reason I stay there for funeral. I couldn't deal with it.i called hotels .com and told them they gave me wrong room but hotel itself saying they gave mr king how can this be a business when you gave something else and call me a lier .I recommend not to do business with this hotel.baddddfd

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dissatisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Farmington Inn is conveniently located near West Hartford (which has only one poorly rated hotel). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the hotel's excellent restaurant (Piccolo Arancio) and that a Starbucks was a short walk across the street. We also appreciated the free wifi. Downsides were the peeling paint in the bathroom and stained carpeting in our room. All in all an adequate place to stay and a good value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmington Inn

Property: Farmington Inn
Address: 827 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, CT 06032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Farmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmington Hotel Farmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing