We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, clean, comfortable”
Review of Farmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmington Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value. It's clean, and in very good shape. The room had very comfortable beds, strong AC, and furniture that was in very good shape and of reasonable taste. (ok, the four-poster queen was overwhelming as furniture goes - drop the posts and they would have been fine - sufficient space, just visually too big). The beds are among the most comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel in a long time. Room was quiet, even with kids staying next door the last night.

Minor nits - had trouble finding enough outlets in the room for normal business gear - e.g. laptop, phone, camera need to be charged, overnight. The breakfast isn't really all that good - went out after the first morning. Room could have used another lamp. But given the price these are just nits. Were it more expensive I might drop the rating one level on the breakfast, but the value is really very, very good.

Convenient to West Hartford, Bristol. Reasonably convenient to Northwest CT - e.g. Litchfield, about 30 minutes. Kent - about an hour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poodledoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Farmington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent visit. We are very happy that you found the room very comfortable and quiet. In regards to your recommendations, we have added additional lamps in all the rooms as well as increased the wattage to provide better lighting. Also, a Charge Port has been added to all the rooms which adds two additional outlets and two USB charge ports at the desk area. In addition we will evaluate the breakfast to see if there are some changes that can be made to enhance the selections. Again, thank you for passing along your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved this place. The decor is traditional,and warm. The rooms were clean,pretty,and the beds so comfortable. Their staff was warm,friendly,and helpful. We came here to be close to lake compounce,we are not familiar with the area.....we loved Farmington!! The Italian restaurant next door was awesome. Come stay here it is so worth it!:)

Room Tip: If you want a non commercial place,this place is it. Very pretty rooms,inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night.. reception busy with a wedding party and provided basic polite check in. Could have been warmer and more gracious and welcoming. Room was clean with blue and white Asian accessories and some antique like furniture. Pretty. Breakfast included in price of room...good selection of cereals fruit you make waffles and coffee. Location convenient to Farmington valley.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Farmington Inn reminds me of staying at several other, older hotels that probably saw a grander time. I rated the hotel very good, but it did have a couple of things that made me debate between average and very good.

Back to the grand dame-ness of the Farmington Inn. The Inn reminds me of the Williamsburg Inn in Williamsburg, VA and the Lake Lure Inn in Lake Lure, NC. Each of those inns were probably among the finest accommodations at one time, and each shares a personality with its location that isn't usually replicated in modern hotels.

I found the facilities clean and comfortable for the most part. We were en route to Canada and booked on Priceline.com maybe an hour before we arrived. Immediately after finding out where we were staying, I called to request a non-smoking king. My reservation had not yet arrived, but the front desk staff took note and honored our request, having our room waiting when we arrived.

My only real concern is that although we had a non-smoking room, there were times when we could smell smoke. It wasn't smoke as if someone had smoked in the room, but more like smoke from somewhere, perhaps even outside a window, had seeped in. The bathroom also featured a circular toilet, as opposed to an oval one, and I find an oval toilet is much more comfortable. The hall floors weren't the quietest ever, but it IS an older property. Most guests walked with their neighbors in mind.

The included breakfast was good: breads, hard-cooked eggs, waffles, and sausages. Good coffee. We hoped to find a snack before bed but didn't want to venture out. Fruit and cookies are provided in the lobby, and the basement features basic vending products.

Overall, we were quite happy with the hotel, especially considering the bargain price we got.

Room Tip: If it's an exceptionally warm day, you may want to call ahead and ask that the a/c be started be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdRockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have never been expect how bad experience I had with this hotel.i booked the room throw hotels.com for king suite they gave me king I was upset enough only reason I stay there for funeral. I couldn't deal with it.i called hotels .com and told them they gave me wrong room but hotel itself saying they gave mr king how can this be a business when you gave something else and call me a lier .I recommend not to do business with this hotel.baddddfd

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dissatisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Farmington Inn is conveniently located near West Hartford (which has only one poorly rated hotel). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the hotel's excellent restaurant (Piccolo Arancio) and that a Starbucks was a short walk across the street. We also appreciated the free wifi. Downsides were the peeling paint in the bathroom and stained carpeting in our room. All in all an adequate place to stay and a good value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We could not wait to check out of this hotel.
We stayed 2 nights and it will definitely be our last.
2 of the 4 lightbulbs in the room didn't work, the tub filled up every time we took a shower and wouldn't drain at all, the beds were hard as a rock, the whole room was dingy and outdated, and the service was equally bad.
Also, they put us in a room right over the main road in Farmington and it was soooo loud all night long.
We told the front desk about the light bulbs and tub on our way out first thing in the morning. When we returned in the evening, not only was nothing done about it, but our room had still not been cleaned up.
My husband went down to let them know and they didn't seem to care at all. They sent someone up finally with 2 light bulbs and handed them to him to do himself at the door.
This will be our last stay here. Very sad because we have family just up the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytravelelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
5.4 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmington Inn

Address: 827 Farmington Ave, Farmington, CT 06032-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range: $113 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Farmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmington Hotel Farmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing