We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a weird management”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Farmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmington Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a weird management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have never been expect how bad experience I had with this hotel.i booked the room throw hotels.com for king suite they gave me king I was upset enough only reason I stay there for funeral. I couldn't deal with it.i called hotels .com and told them they gave me wrong room but hotel itself saying they gave mr king how can this be a business when you gave something else and call me a lier .I recommend not to do business with this hotel.baddddfd

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dissatisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
55
67
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Farmington Inn is conveniently located near West Hartford (which has only one poorly rated hotel). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the hotel's excellent restaurant (Piccolo Arancio) and that a Starbucks was a short walk across the street. We also appreciated the free wifi. Downsides were the peeling paint in the bathroom and stained carpeting in our room. All in all an adequate place to stay and a good value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We could not wait to check out of this hotel.
We stayed 2 nights and it will definitely be our last.
2 of the 4 lightbulbs in the room didn't work, the tub filled up every time we took a shower and wouldn't drain at all, the beds were hard as a rock, the whole room was dingy and outdated, and the service was equally bad.
Also, they put us in a room right over the main road in Farmington and it was soooo loud all night long.
We told the front desk about the light bulbs and tub on our way out first thing in the morning. When we returned in the evening, not only was nothing done about it, but our room had still not been cleaned up.
My husband went down to let them know and they didn't seem to care at all. They sent someone up finally with 2 light bulbs and handed them to him to do himself at the door.
This will be our last stay here. Very sad because we have family just up the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Inn for several months (nine) while relocating to CT from PA. We lived at the house on premises. This gave us a real up close and personal view of the Inn. Our delight and expectations were exceeded. Nancy (the office manager) and Darlene made sure all of our needs were met, Ramsey took care of any problems wonderfully, and housekeeping (in particular Patel) were extremely professional and conscientious. I would highly recommend staying at the Farmington Inn. Everyone at the front desk (Ashley, Andrew, and Richard) were all helpful and kind. I especially loved the complimentary cookies (oatmeal raisin)! They even have a complimentary happy hour with hors d'ouevres and wine.

It is really centrally located with easy access to I-84. I would often just walk to Starbucks's for a caffeine fix or Peachwave for desert. If you wish to have something a little stronger, there is a liquor store next to the frozen yogurt place. I would also walk to the grocery store (Highland Park) but it is a little over 1 mile down a very scenic road. It is a pleasant walk through history, especially reading about the homes on Farmington Ave involved in the underground railroad.

Room Tip: If you stay at the house, traffic can be a little noisy (especially the fire trucks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Let me start by saying that I'm getting married in August and have been shopping around local hotels to book a few rooms for out of town guests. I was referred to the Farmington Inn by Farmington Gardens and had no idea on how to go about doing this. I called and a front desk employee who introduced himself as Richard was very helpful and informative. He then connected me to the sales manager Darlene who just blew me away. I was very impressed since I had called other hotels with the same questions but NO ONE made me feel as excited as Darlene did. She was so informative and assured me that she would personally make sure that my guests and I are taking care of so that I don't have to worry about that part of my wedding. From the food to the transportation she would take care of it since she has a great team that goes above and beyond for their guest. I am actually looking forward to my stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marisol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Check in was super easy, pleasant people at the front dest, rooms are average sized.
The placed seemed old as the floors in the halls creaked and given a metal key for the room that had a tube Tv.
Not very handicap friendly, lots of steps and no elevators, but can be worked around to accommodate handicap needs.
Restaurant, pizza parlor and liquor store in walking distance on a street that can get busy, but a traffic signal is on the corner making crossing easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wik101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
5.4 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmington Inn

Property: Farmington Inn
Address: 827 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, CT 06032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmington Hotel Farmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing