We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falls Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falls Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Village Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had dinner there before going to a concert at Music Mountain. The dinning room is not fancy, but it is clean and bright. The same could be said about the food. The meals were not incredibly complicated, but the portions were large and the taste was very good. I thought that the prices were just a little high, but then considering that this is one of the most expensive regions to live in Connecticut (if not the whole East Coast), they were not really bad. Over all it was a good meal in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn for a two night getaway. The owner Sue, was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the blue room which had delightfully soft sheets and a tasteful decor. I loved all the historic details that were respected during the recent renovation. In the morning there was a continental breakfast waiting for us downstairs. We had dinner there two nights in a row it was so good! We had a variety of items on the menu and specials, such as the NY strip steak, the salmon, the marinated lamb special and the swordfish special. everything was extremely fresh and expertly prepared. The wait staff was very pleasant and attentive. I would make a point of going back for our next getaway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abstract69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after reading press on the hotel in the New York Times and Travel & Leisure. The house is pleasant enough with charming rooms that are a bit loud in the mornings and evenings (as an old house typically is - you can hear everything going on in the halls). The main complaint I had is that the hotel does not offer breakfast with the rooms which is a shame as the food here is nice and there is not even a tea/coffee maker in your room. I've never stayed in a small inn that doesn't offer this service. It would be a small improvement to put that in the room and have a continental service with muffins and OJ downstairs that would make a world of difference. We had lunch there and the burger was amazing. We also had dessert there a few nights but nothing to write home about. The lovely cakes from Sweet Williams are best served room temperature to avoid hard icing but they were served straight from the fridge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

If you like brown paper bag table coverings, this is the place for you. They serve overly spiced grocery store crackers/flatbread instead of a nice warm bread. This goes well with the brown paper bag table coverings. If you prefer a very plain dinning room with no atmosphere, you might like the Falls Village Inn Restaurant. I found the food and the service to be mediocre.
There are better places to dine.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend, while watching the Lime Rock historic racing (that was excellent, by the way), and the inn was full of face fans and locals, who all appeared so glad to have somewhere like the inn to eat. We had the spacious yellow room and I loved the furnishings - sofa upholstered in grey linen, and the most comfortable and lovely bed etc. I didn't know you could get an iron bedstead so big! The room needed a bit of a dust and I cleaned some marks off the chair and sofa, as they are too nice to see get spoiled.

The inn is an old building and you have to expect creaks and rattles - you can hear when other guests are talking in the hall or going up and down the stairs, no big deal. But the yellow room is over the front door and the room literally shook every time someone came in and out (that Saturday it was every few minutes) - people weren't slamming the door, its just a very heavy door in an old building.

The weather was very humid and the air con was great. The bathroom (no bath) is roomy, an extra self would be useful to put your toiletries etc on, as everytime I put things in a drawer, I leave them there!

When we arrived we asked 'what do people normally do for breakfast?' and the answer was "Well, we could leave something out for you, but most people go to the Toymakers Cafe", so we gathered breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. We ate twice in the inn's restaurant - my husband had the most wonderful salmon fishcakes with saffron rice and aspragus on the first night, another lovely fish dish the second evening and we had delicious desserts both evenings.

If we were in the area, I would stay here again and ask for the yellow room - that bed outweighs the rooms shakes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are so happy to see the inn as busy as it is. It looks beautiful. With such limited choices in the area I would hate to see this place become just a "bar" to me. The food is SO salty...I like salt but it was over the top...not just a one time deal either. We really want to support this place so if the manager/owner is reading this please take my advice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station,NJ
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We met both Sue and Joy during our one night stay and dining at this recently renovated inn. They both have a great sense of hospitality and locals talk highly of them and the impact they try to make on the local community to revive the town and area.
The inn has spacious bed rooms upstairs each with a private full bathroom. The decoration is charming. Each room has a theme color. All equipment is fully functional and in great condition. The king bed was soft and provided for a good night of sleep in this quiet town.
We hiked through town on the Appalachian Trail and the Inn beats a tent by far.
Downstairs has an open porch with chairs, (screened in?) veranda seating for outside dining, a tap room, a dining parlor and main dining room.
Classic American comfort fare with a good tough of Italian. Tuesday night was paella night and we finished the pan for two with delight. The Ecuadorian cook uses local farm ingredients and seems familiar with many tastes. The servings are generous and presented nicely.
While the inn is closed on Wednesday, joy made us breakfast and the chef made us custom tasty sandwiches for on the trail. This saved us a trip to the general store and demonstrates the heart the inn keepers are putting in this place.

Room Tip: Choose your color
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Village
3.6 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
16.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
16.8 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.3 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Village Inn

Property: The Falls Village Inn
Address: 33 Railroad St, Falls Village, CT 06031-1328
Location: United States > Connecticut > Falls Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Falls Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Village Inn is an historic inn located in Falls Village CT in Litchfield County. Accommodations designed by the famous Bunny Williams make it the perfect stay or getaway in CT. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing