We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Guacamole , Huge Tequila selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Geronimo

Geronimo
Ranked #13 of 217 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great Guacamole , Huge Tequila selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

At $15 a portion the guacamole is a great treat, but the ride ends there. Extremely tough skirt steak, bland pork burrito, ho-hum veggie burrito, nachos uninteresting, sit outside and listen to the motorcycles that always seem to catch a red light and rev up while waiting for it to change. Get a draft beer and skip the overpriced house wine. The place is really cute, great job by the decorator, someone needs to shake up the kitchen and this place could be WONDERFUL!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great for drinks, dinner not so great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful remodeling of a location that has been several different restaurants.
As with many new places, this place gets packed with customers in the later evening. We arrived around 6:00 and were seated immediately. I started out with the Geronimo Margarita and a friend had the red Sangria. Both were very generous portions and great tasting. We also had exceptional table-side constructed guacamole and chips. Also very good. My entree and that of my husband were huge disappointments after the yummy beginning to our meal.
The staff needs a bit more training. We ordered a special guacamole that was to have bacon and corn in it. We had to remind our preparer of this and he went back to gather together the food items to be included in this dish. Problem is, he forgot to put them in. I thought (as did everyone else) that I had simply not gotten any of the corn or bacon in what I dipped from the bowl. When we told our waitress of the missing ingredients she said she would take the extra expense of these components off our tab. Not what a better restaurant would had offered -- how about an apology from the preparer?? Take the entire dish off the tab??

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great drinks, fun place for a night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

But...leave the kids at home. Very loud. A little over the top and almost too many choices. Food was good. Margaritas and mojitos were better. Service was up and down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Touch of Arizona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

New to the Fairfield Post Rd line of restaurants, Geronimo is a welcome addition. The food has been well prepared and tasty although slow getting to the table. Wait staff is young and aimed to please. The bar is hopping with the twenty to thirty set. For a nice change in menu, check out Geronimo

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geronimo also viewed

 

Been to Geronimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing