We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom toilet exploded at 4am!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fairfield
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bathroom toilet exploded at 4am!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the moment I stepped into my corner room the toilet did not have any suction, thus did not flush properly. At 4am I was awakened by the sound of running water and discovered that it was the toilet overflowing all over the bathroom floor. I was disgusted - I get this crap literally at home! I didn't feel like waking my spouse thus I CLEANED YOUR MESS UP AT 4AM WITH WHAT LITTLE TOWELS YOU PROVIDED! I spent a good hour sopping up the water and wringing out the towels. I was very upset and when my spouse woke up I had to tell him to use the toilet in the lobby and it was just 6am. Upon returning to the elevator not aware of what time it was, with the breakfast bar prematurely full of food, he was then chastized by your staff members that breakfast started at 6:30am. He ignored them and got us a tiny plate of food for our awful evening. We asked for late check-out and tried to sleep in but your cleaning staff started rounds at 8am and were terribly loud, slamming doors, etc until I had to step in the hallway and tell them I was trying to sleep - stupid. We couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank ANN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your recent experience with me. Your comments are vital to us as we strive to exceed our guests expectations. I am so sorry to hear that we did not exceed all of your expectations.. I have reviewed all your concerns with all the appropriate staff and put procedures in place so that this does not reoccur. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Warmest Regards,
Gus Szkotnicki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    101
    56
    46
    23
See reviews for
153
75
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Norriton, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff was very courteous and the room was clean. We have stay at the hotel a few times in the past year. It is located close to where our daughter and her husband live so it is convenient. We will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
All of us at the Best Western PLUS Black Rock Inn truly appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We strive every day to provide an exceptional experience for our guests and we’re very pleased to hear that we succeeded. I hope when your travels bring you back to this area we get the opportunity to host you again.
Warmest Regards,
Gus Szkotnicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

After being flooded out by hurricane Sandy, i unfortunately had to relocate. I made the last reservation available and have never met more hospitable, competent and assisting employees at a hotel. I remained at the hotel for in excess of ten days and throughout my stay the accommodations continued in an outstanding manner. This hotel is an excellent place to stay and looking forward to return in the future. My sincere thanks go out to Melissa, Michelle, Rochelle,Liz and Manager Gus for an outstanding hotel and great accommodations

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Jefkar1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the property and the staff. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to have you come back and visit us again.

Warmest Regards,
Gus Szkotnicki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The room was so small it was difficult to walk around the bed. The staff especially the breakfast person was very unfriendly and not willing to help out. The hotel is very clean and beds are comfortable but the staff did not make it worthwhile. The outside door near our room slammed shut every time someone went in or out. Not a relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank HARRIET G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Harriet G,

We thank you for taking the time to submitting a review. We here at The Best Western PLUS Black Rock Inn strive every day to give great customer service but apparently we failed to deliver that in this case. Rest assured that we take this very seriously and have put plans in place so that we continue to deliver great customer service.

Warmest Regards,
Gus Szkotnicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

good customer service and the breakfast was delicious its clean and neat and well kept my daughter loved it which means the cable was good lol overall good experience me and my family had a total of 3 rooms and no one complained the guys loved the weight room the belgium waffles were amazing the best i've tasted i'm shocked to say the first night we ordered from primo pizza which has menu in each room it was great too good experience we stayed for 2 days

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Shalonda W,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a wonderful review.
We are so very happy to hear that yoou and your family enjoyed our breakfast and that you found our hotel " clean and neat and well kept and that your daughter loved it which means the cable was good lol overall good experience" . We are looking forward to hosting your family again.

Best Regards,
Gus Szkotnicki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was late, it was raining, and we were exhausted and had no knowledge of the area. Saw the exit sign promising lodging, took the chance, and were glad we did.

I have limited experience with the Best Western chain but will be giving them a closer look in the future. This is a top-knotch place; not five-star, certainly, but for an interstate-adjacent hotel, more than adequate for all but the pickiest people.

Check in was quick and painless, and the desk clerk was VERY helpful with recommendations for where to get food, and find an open pharmacy, on a dark and rainy weekday night. Much appreciated!

The rooms were updated and clean. Beds were comfortable and with an abundance of pillows. Our room was quiet even though it was close to the dining area. The bathroom was clean and there was an adequate amout of bath and coffee amenities. A good night's rest was had.

The breakfast was great - hot entrees and a wide variety of pastries and cold cereals, even some fresh fruit; something here for everyone but the pickiest morning eaters. There were adequate tables and it wasn't crowded when we ate.

All in all a good experience for a last-minute choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary Travellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackrockinngm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
All of us at the Best Western PLUS Black Rock Inn truly appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We strive every day to provide an exceptional experience for our guests and we’re very pleased to hear that we succeeded. I hope when your travels bring you back to this area we get the opportunity to host you again.
Warmest Regards,

Gus Szkotnicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel, located within earshot of the Connecticut Turnpike, is clean and comfortable, and often booked solid because it is the only hotel in the center of Fairfield. The staff is courteous and the hotel is within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants though one has to cross several busy roads. Ask for one of the larger rooms if you are staying more than one night and see if you can get one that does not back on the Turnpike so truck traffic does not interfere with your sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
1.0 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
339 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
Address: 100 Kings Highway Cutoff, Fairfield, CT 06824-5341 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Fairfield Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Rock Hotel Fairfield
Best Western Fairfield
Fairfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing