We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hot Dogs and Even Better Fries”
Review of Super Duper Weenie

Super Duper Weenie
Ranked #4 of 217 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hot Dogs and Even Better Fries”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Super Duper Weenie have very good hot dogs but their topping make the experience excellent. Their fries are great. To top everything off, they serve Boylan soda-one of my favorites. My wife likes Hebrew National hot dogs better and I like Nathan's but for an enjoyable dog with great toppings, this place is a winner..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul33740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    68
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“happiness”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I crave Super Duper. In my opinion, 2 "Californias" are better than a five star-3 course dinner! Go and you will understand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2getawaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, ct
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hot dogs were just ok, nothing too out of the ordinary. The steak and cheese we had was very greasy, and i couldnt finish eating it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanna432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Drawer, Authentic American Dining Experience!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

There's a reason people queue out the door to eat here...

Having seen the episode of Diners, Drive Ins and Dives featuring SDW, we decided to find experience it for ourselves and were not disappointed.

Very plain and straightforward dining room with benches and tablecloths, but you are not there for the decor, you're there for the hot dogs - and actually, the benches make for a more sociable experience as you sit and talk with other diners.

The food is great - love the Californian with hot relish and the fries with salt/pepper are quality. Big portions and down-right, fantastic value for money! Join the queue....!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimb0b747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worthwhile stop along I-95”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stopped by Super Duper Weenie several times to grab a bite to eat. It's a pretty consistent meal for a pretty consistent price.

GETTING HERE:
Super Duper Weenie is very convenient to get to off of I-95 making it a tasty and reasonable side-stop while driving on I-95. The food quality is much better than all the McDonalds rest stop areas in CT. When you get to the location, be prepared for a very small parking lot. It fits at most 10 cars so during busy hours you'd have to look for other parking.

INSIDE:
Once you walk through the door you're hit with an interesting mix of diner/fast food joint. Some neon, a bar counter that wraps along the wall and a cash register right in front of you. As you walk up, the big (in size) but limited (in options) menu is to your left where you can pick from about 9 different hot dog options, some other common fare like burgers, fries, sandwiches, etc. A good drink selection sits in the cooler to the left of the entry. After placing an order be prepared for two things...sticker shock and a bit of a wait, depending on how busy they are that day. The hot dogs aren't cheap at about 3 bucks per dog and they grill them to order unlike the New York dirty water dogs. You can mix and match toppings if one of the available recommendations is not your thing. My personal favorite is the Georgia Red Hot with Hot Relish as it's not really a hot dog but a sausage link. I like spice and flavor so this is right up my alley. Runner up would be a New Yorker hot dog. Grab a Boylan soda to go with your meal as it's made with real sugar.

AFTER YOU ORDER:
Take a quick look behind the cash register as they have a potato chopper for their home made french fries. They're not as good as stuff you can get in Belgium but a whole lot closer to home. Then look above the grill for Guy Fieri's signature from when he did his Diners, Drive-Ins and Dive show. Finally, grab a seat at the wrap-around if you're in a hurry or go make a left into the park bench dining area. They'll usually bring the food to you. The dogs are huge after all the fix-in's are added. It's hard to describe the flavor but it's a satisfying meal that's several notches above the typical hot dog you can get on a street of NYC or in a Duchess. You can be sure you'll leave satisfied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychephylax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Super Duper Weenie also viewed

 

Been to Super Duper Weenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing