We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant, very good food”
Review of Royal House Cambodia Cuisine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal House Cambodia Cuisine
Restaurant details
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, very good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This restaurant is small and simple, but the food was very good. For those not familiar with Cambodian cuisine, it is very similar to Thai. I had the Pnom Penh Roast Duck, which came on a sizzling platter before being smothered in red curry sauce. It was boneless, thinly sliced, and tender. My wife was also happy with her noodle dish, and the fish cake appetizer was very good. The waiting time for our dishes was a bit long. A single friendly woman did the serving, and probably a single person did the cooking as well. The place does not have much atmosphere, but the food was served on nice glass dishes. The cutlery was unusually heavy. There is parking right in front.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Cambodian Cuisine”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Another nice addition to the Town of Fairfield. You can taste the freshness of the ingredients used in all their dishes. The Khmer curry is wonderful in taste and I have stop myself from ordering more white rice to sop up all the curry. The shrimp and crab meat fried rice is filled with flavors with loads of crab meat and ingredients that it's a meal by itself if that's all you're eating. The barbeque chicken reminded me fondly of the grill chicken in Asia but the most delicious dish of all is the Amok; a baked dish of sea bass stuffed with shrimp, scallops, lemon grass and topped with curry. This does take a bit of time as they do not cook this ahead of time but it is well worth the wait. The husband and wife owners have made this place a new addition to our family's regular rotation of favorite places to eat in Fairfield.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank swl4073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The fried tofu is incredible and the Singapore noodles are really outstanding. Great service and easily one of the best meals I've ever had. Fairfield is really fortunate to have a place like this around!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I now love Cambodian”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is delicious. Period. Eat here. From appetizers to entrée to dessert. Can't go wrong. I can't wait to come back here!!!

Helpful?
Thank MKurtBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like Thai food, you will love this Camodian food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I am so happy to see Royal House on Trip Advisor because I tried writing a review a couple of months ago and they weren't there yet. My family and I ate there on its opening night a few months ago and have been back several times, for both take-out and eat-in. First, the owner in the dining room is kind, efficient, and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and to explain the food. Second, the food is to die for. For appetizers, we love the Summer Roll (similar to Vietnamese) and the Khmer Fish Cake; the Papaya Salad is amazingly flavorful and SPICY; and the main dishes that make you go back for more are Chicken Khmer Red Curry and the Phnom Penh Roast Duck. The mixture of spice and coconut milk in these last two is magical. The wine selection has gradually come to life too, from no license to a few wines to a good selection. I feel lucky to have this amazing food so close to home -- I am no expert of Southeast Asian food, but know what I love!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaSa417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal House Cambodia Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing