We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Fairfield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martel

Martel
Ranked #17 of 215 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: bistro and bar food. Very good place; I'd like to review it.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
253 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The best in Fairfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Another home run yesterday at lunch with the lobster salad. Most dependable restaurant in town. Great spot with a very generous drink pour.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Small, place with consistently good food and friendly service. Lively bar area, more for those in their 40's and 50's than a younger crowd. Convenient to the Quick Center.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Martel has always been the "go to" place when someone asks, "Where should we eat". The food is consistently very good, if not great. Some of their regular items, like the mushroom raviolis, are always very, very good. Many of their soups use unusual ingredients that make them taste even better. Their sandwiches are always more than I can possibly eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“France on the Post Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Martel is a Fairfield institution. Whenever I can't think of where else to go, I choose Martel. Two people can easily split a burger; their salads are excellent, and my son is devoted to the confit. The noise level is a little high, but if you time your visit right, it's not an issue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mollybloom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Martel has never disappointed. We have stopped in a couple of times on our way from NY to Boston and we were looking forward to another nice lunch. It started snowing en route so we debated...did we really need lunch or did we want to beat the snow? So glad we opted for lunch. It's hard to capture the inventiveness, attention to detail and quality that go into a meal here. Even a 'simple' burger beat the top-rated NYC burgers we had a few days prior. Best lobster roll i've ever had. Goat cheese and fig salad are the best. We decided to get back on the road while the going was good so didn't stay for the dessert, a highlight of the whole experience from past visits! Make your way there regardless of whether you're just passing through or are 'in the area'.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martel also viewed

 

Been to Martel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing