We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Marley's Cafe

Marley's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My girlfriends and i decided to have a girls night out at marleys. Our first time there. We had a wonderful time. I think we closed the olace. It was so relaxing and the food was wonderful. I have spread the word about this place. We willl be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phg1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Breakfast menu is simple but I have never been displeased..especially since it is adorned with fresh fruit. Taking a skiff across a spit of water is a relaxing way to start the day. Decor is Key West-like and pleasant.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtripperFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Marley's means summer!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Marley's is a very special place. It is in Essex Island Marina. You need to take a VERY SHORT ferry ride across to the restaurant. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner (Thursday through Sunday) in season. It is family run, BYOB for dinner and just a great place to sit outside, look at the boats, and enjoy a good meal. We can't wait for them to re-open next summer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kronberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Think twice before trying this Restaurant.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Went for dinner one Sunday night in early August..Had 6:00 reservations.
We placed our order within the hour and waited and waited and waited. No waitress in site until our food came out an hour later. Dinner was cold and extremely salty. Horrible experience and will never return..Oh by the way, $100.00 dollars later for two people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatsmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“How in the world Rated #1????????”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I don't get it. Either we picked the worse possible night or something has drastically changed in the past couple of months. We made 8pm reservations on a Sat. night. First time there, had family in town, BYOB, right on the CT River and dogs allowed...sounded fantastic. We got there at 7:40pm and were seated right away. Our order was taken at 7:55pm. Asked for water.....Did not see our waitress again until 8:30pm when my soup came (others ordered salad) ...waited and waited and waited. Salads came at 8:45pm. Still no water. waited and waited.....9:15pm we had enought. I went inisde (seating is outside on the grass) and stated we were leaving and would pay for the soup and salad. The hostess said it was coming out now and was sorry (she ended up serving us, we only saw the waitress 2 times that night) but a group of 40 was there and everyone ordered at once. HELLO..then hire more people. We decided to wait another 5 minutes hoping the food would make up for it. Good grief, they charged us $25 a plate for cold raviolis and a chicken dish that was way to salty. Bottom line...EAT BEFORE YOU GO. The ambiance is great but the food was awful, overpriced and the service unacceptable. How they recieved such a high rating is beyond me. I will not go back or recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marley's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marley's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing