We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS SPOT!”
Review of The Spa of Essex

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Spa of Essex
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Essex
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spa of Essex, an elite and elegant day spa, sits on three secluded acres just a short walk from the Essex Village. The Spa of Essex offers more than simply treatments, they promise an experience! Escape, relax and renew.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS SPOT!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Spa at Essex is consistently wonderful -- I almost don't want to write the review because if too many ppl know about it then you really won't be able to get an appt.

In all seriousness, you've not met a better staff, a wide array of affordable services and a nice quiet place to relax.

Only issue: The quiet room is lovely (when it's quiet)...but sometimes, you can get clients who use it as an "outdoor cafe" complete with not so quiet conversations. (This happened once in the many times I've been there.)

Otherwise, I'd recommend it to everyone -- and after your day at the spa, hang out in the local town of Essex...it's so pleasant and right by the river.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The staff at the spa have always been extremely friendly and welcoming. I have only visited a few times, but I am waiting for a break in my busy schedule to go back! I have tried multiple massages all with different individuals and they have been fantastic. I feel my back tightening now, must be time to book another appointment!

Helpful?
Thank kelly1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
1 review
“VERY HIGH STANDARD ALL ROUND”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I will definitely go again, and hopefully soon. It is very modern, extremely well thought out building in wonderful grounds. The staff and unusually helpful and friendly. The two treatments I had were very well done.

My husband was delighted with the high standard of the food (and that is extremely unusual, to say the least). I can't praise enough! It was very well decked out with all the modern equipment and everything was very clean.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlozLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, MA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Man's Review”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I visited the Spa of Essex with my sweetheart as a treat for a belated Valentine's Day. In addition to having a tranquil atmosphere, it is decorated in a chic and modern fashion. The colors on the walls are nice, great comfy furniture, and lavishly accomodated bathrooms and massage rooms. It kind of made me feel like I was hanging out at my swanky new england mansion in my bathrobe.
We had an appointment for a couples massage. I'm not a spa kind of guy so the massage part was okay. The employees were very nice to us...almost too nice. The massage tables were comfy and heated. Afterwards, we got to hang out in the relaxation room in their oversized love seats while eating chocolates and drinking champagne. Lastly, I showered off in the bathroom and indulged in a self-administered shave at my leisure.
I've never been to a spa before but, I have to say that this one was top notch. My girlfriend admitted that it was the nicest spa she had ever been to. I'm certain that the average spa goer would enjoy a visit to the Spa of Essex.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice place to go”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

was there once it was a warm place to be people are friendly and all i wont go back but it is nice for some one else

Helpful?
Thank KEITH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spa of Essex also viewed

 

Been to The Spa of Essex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing