We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”

Griswold Inn ~ Dining
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the “storybook” village of Essex mere steps from the Connecticut River, this 1776 landmark offers three distinct dining experiences. “Historic Dining” is offered in four handsome rooms - The Covered Bridge, The Gun Room, The Library and The Essex Room – where a renowned maritime art collection fills the walls. The Inn’s New England heritage and connection with the sea is apparent in the classic seasonal cuisine offered; diners may enjoy a more contemporary culinary experience in the stunning wine bar featuring tapas-style dining and an extensive selection of wines by the glass; tavern fare is offered in the atmospheric, award-winning Tap Room where lively music rings out nightly. Patio dining is an option May through October, weather permitting. Lunch and dinner served daily, Hunt Breakfast on Sunday.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a family lunch there today. This inn and restaurant was opened in 1776. Filled with pictures and models of old steamships, it is more a museum than a restaurant! We ate in the main dining room and all the pictures, brass bells, and old wood transported us back in time. We ordered the fried clam strips and a turkey club. Service was efficient and as quick as you would want for food made fresh to order. The clams were delicious, obviously prepared, breaded and fried on the premises. They came with fries and cole slaw. The turkey club was massive, tasty and included a salad, when our meal was finished we spent quite some time just looking around and enjoying ourselves. I will seriously consider coming back to stay at the inn and try some of their other dishes. The restrooms were modern and clean but there was tons of graffiti carved onto the wood. Unfortunate, but not a big deal. At 17.95 I thought the clams a little too pricy but others in our party didn't think so. If you have the chance to go to the Griswold, do it. You won't be sorry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    122
    52
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Charming and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I ended a visit to the Connecticut River Museum by having a late lunch at the Griswold Inn. My hot variation of their lobster roll was delicious. The accompanying salad had an asiago dressing that is their house specialty and was so good my husband dipped his french fries in it. His very large hamburger was done to perfection and the fries crip and hot! The live Jazz Band playing was an added delight. A couple of glasses of wine and this great atmosphere and food, ended our afternoon on a high note! Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a terrible, terrible shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I are boaters. We are in Essex once a year, sometimes more frequently. On every visit we have the conversation about whether we ought to have dinner at "The Gris".

Twenty plus years worth.

Past experience suggests if we were willing to accept well meaning service, we could forgive the mediocre quality of the food.

The setting is delightful. But you can't eat setting.

We dined there this evening. Simply, and unfortunately, a shame.

The waitress meant well and then disappeared for almost twenty minutes between the appetizer and the entree.

The entrees - including a $32 "NY strip" were heat lamp productions.

We decided to compensate with a dessert.

Fifteen minutes later we asked for the bill

What a shame.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lwilson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn ~ Dining, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It IS a shame that your dining experiences with us have not met your expectations. Although it is certainly our goal to "please all of the people all of the time" we know we satisfy most of the people all of the time and that numbers in the thousands each year. We sincerely regret that you have not shared that experience.

Perhaps our Wine Bar would be more appealing to you. It offers a more contemporary dining experience with small plates, macro plates, cheese selections, over 50 wines by the glass...all served in a stunning, art-filled setting. Our Wine Bar food, service and ambiance consistently receive rave reviews. We hope you might give it a try on your next trip to Essex!

Respectfully,
The Paul Family

Respectfully,
The Paul Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lots of charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited the bar area of the inn on a Sunday evening after dining elsewhere. There was a live band playing. The place has a lot of charm. We had drinks and clam chowder. My drink was too strong but the waitress had it watered down at my request. She seemed to be the only waitress so we waited forever to pay our tab, but it was a cool place and we would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mahi Mahi, Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I bet they served this at The Last Supper! Absolutely phenomenal! #heavenonearth#todiefor#ironchef#justinpillion#theman

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xjcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griswold Inn ~ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Griswold Inn ~ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing