We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, great pub”

Griswold Inn ~ Dining
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the “storybook” village of Essex mere steps from the Connecticut River, this 1776 landmark offers three distinct dining experiences. “Historic Dining” is offered in four handsome rooms - The Covered Bridge, The Gun Room, The Library and The Essex Room – where a renowned maritime art collection fills the walls. The Inn’s New England heritage and connection with the sea is apparent in the classic seasonal cuisine offered; diners may enjoy a more contemporary culinary experience in the stunning wine bar featuring tapas-style dining and an extensive selection of wines by the glass; tavern fare is offered in the atmospheric, award-winning Tap Room where lively music rings out nightly. Patio dining is an option May through October, weather permitting. Lunch and dinner served daily, Hunt Breakfast on Sunday.
Medford,MA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great pub”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped into the Griswold Inn late in the afternoon on a Saturday to have a drink and relax after touring all day. We had intended to have lunch but spent more time doing the Essex River loop than anticipated. I can't therefore really speak to the food, but, the pub was wonderful. We enjoyed two pints of ale and popcorn in this atmospheric space and lingered for an hour. On weekends there is a terrific piano player from 3-7 who plays a great repertoire of jazzy popular songs. It looks like there is music every night of the week in the pub of one style or another.

The wine bar and the menu of small plates looked excellent, more sophisticated and contemporary in style but also welcoming. Overall, the Griswold Inn certainly left us with a desire to return. Soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    130
    53
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, a little crazy decor!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was taken here for my birthday and it was lovely. We all had salads and fish. All the food was nicely prepared and the seasonal salads were creative and delicious. The entire restaurant is covered in old nautical art- kind of cool to look at.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocoholic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Wine Bar”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Try eating in the wine bar. It has great small plates and an endless selection of wine.
The wine flights are a great way to try three different wines and they usually have daily specials.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Classic New England Charmer”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This delightful, quaint Inn is in the beautiful town of Essex, and well worth the trip for it's unique and authentic charm.

This was an 85th birthday celebration for 7, and we were seated at a round table amidst wood paneled walls, floors, covered with sea-faring lithographs, paintings and historic artifacts, with a fireplace on one side of the room.

There is a adjacent bar, the Tap Room, equally atmospheric and warm.

I started with an excellent salad with manchego cheese and pears on field greens with a walnut vinagrette.

It would have been improved with the addition of walnuts as well, but was quite good.

Then had baked cod, which was covered with breadcrumbs with julienne vegetables of carrots, stringbeans, zucchini and squash.

The cod, while small for the price ($26), was fresh and well cooked, but the breadcrumb topping was at least half a pound of buttered breadcrumbs, which seemed an attempt to camouflage the small portion of fish.

As I am gluten intolerant, I had to scrape off the breadcrumbs which obliterated more than half of the dish.

The kitchen was overwhelmed by a huge party of 16 seated behind us, so we waited quite a long time for our main course.

When reminding the server that this was a birthday celebration, she duly brought out an ice cream sundae with candles on it at the end of the meal.

Based on the atmosphere and quality of the food, the Gris is a very special place steeped in history, and should not be missed if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmkinnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch after our stroll through town. I had the fish my husband had the turkey club. Enjoyed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illiad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griswold Inn ~ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Griswold Inn ~ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing