We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wine Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griswold Inn ~ Dining

Griswold Inn ~ Dining
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the “storybook” village of Essex mere steps from the Connecticut River, this 1776 landmark offers three distinct dining experiences. “Historic Dining” is offered in four handsome rooms - The Covered Bridge, The Gun Room, The Library and The Essex Room – where a renowned maritime art collection fills the walls. The Inn’s New England heritage and connection with the sea is apparent in the classic seasonal cuisine offered; diners may enjoy a more contemporary culinary experience in the stunning wine bar featuring tapas-style dining and an extensive selection of wines by the glass; tavern fare is offered in the atmospheric, award-winning Tap Room where lively music rings out nightly. Patio dining is an option May through October, weather permitting. Lunch and dinner served daily, Hunt Breakfast on Sunday.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Wine Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Try eating in the wine bar. It has great small plates and an endless selection of wine.
The wine flights are a great way to try three different wines and they usually have daily specials.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    122
    52
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Classic New England Charmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This delightful, quaint Inn is in the beautiful town of Essex, and well worth the trip for it's unique and authentic charm.

This was an 85th birthday celebration for 7, and we were seated at a round table amidst wood paneled walls, floors, covered with sea-faring lithographs, paintings and historic artifacts, with a fireplace on one side of the room.

There is a adjacent bar, the Tap Room, equally atmospheric and warm.

I started with an excellent salad with manchego cheese and pears on field greens with a walnut vinagrette.

It would have been improved with the addition of walnuts as well, but was quite good.

Then had baked cod, which was covered with breadcrumbs with julienne vegetables of carrots, stringbeans, zucchini and squash.

The cod, while small for the price ($26), was fresh and well cooked, but the breadcrumb topping was at least half a pound of buttered breadcrumbs, which seemed an attempt to camouflage the small portion of fish.

As I am gluten intolerant, I had to scrape off the breadcrumbs which obliterated more than half of the dish.

The kitchen was overwhelmed by a huge party of 16 seated behind us, so we waited quite a long time for our main course.

When reminding the server that this was a birthday celebration, she duly brought out an ice cream sundae with candles on it at the end of the meal.

Based on the atmosphere and quality of the food, the Gris is a very special place steeped in history, and should not be missed if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmkinnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch after our stroll through town. I had the fish my husband had the turkey club. Enjoyed

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Illiad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“classic old Inn..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just had dinner there,,the ambiance was as unique as the inn itself..we came by boat and they had a launch that too you to town..and the inn was right there..not too long of a walk..

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it for Lunch with the Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My group of friends in the 70's and 80's love to have lunch here. We get the best service with every one of our "Whyms" taken care of... Just recently my husband and I attended the "Art Tour" that they Gris offer once a month. It covers a great deal of history of the CT River and the vessels and artists. It is very interesting for visitors to the area as well as the locals like us. After the tour, we stayed for dinner, as we;; as most of the rest of the group. It was nice dining by the fireplace, and the service was impeccable. It is one of my favorite places to dine at. Easter and or Christmas brunch are special there, and if you are lucky, you may catch the Carolers at Christmas time serenading you at your table... It is Special...

Helpful?
Thank Angeles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griswold Inn ~ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Griswold Inn ~ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing