We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

Griswold Inn ~ Dining
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the “storybook” village of Essex mere steps from the Connecticut River, this 1776 landmark offers three distinct dining experiences. “Historic Dining” is offered in four handsome rooms - The Covered Bridge, The Gun Room, The Library and The Essex Room – where a renowned maritime art collection fills the walls. The Inn’s New England heritage and connection with the sea is apparent in the classic seasonal cuisine offered; diners may enjoy a more contemporary culinary experience in the stunning wine bar featuring tapas-style dining and an extensive selection of wines by the glass; tavern fare is offered in the atmospheric, award-winning Tap Room where lively music rings out nightly. Patio dining is an option May through October, weather permitting. Lunch and dinner served daily, Hunt Breakfast on Sunday.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great historic stop and family friendly. Stopped for lunch and had the Saturday special: warm crab salad on english muffin with generous side salad. The Gris' is a lot of fun at night on weekends when the Piano bar is open, also a wine bar attached on Main street side if looking for more of an adult atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    132
    53
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been twice now. Once for Valentines day and just this past Christmas. Both meals were wonderful, and not terribly expensive. Christmas season has a group of 4 singers that wander from table to table, in period costume and take requests for your favorite carols. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaSue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Old New England Charm”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went here for dinner with my family. We asked for a table in front of the fireplace. Unfortunately it wasn't working that night. Our server was quite pleasant. We had salads which were quite good. A mixed basket of warm rolls and molasses bread was provided with maple butter. Very good. We all had the prime rib. Cooked like we ordered it and very tasty. Was a very nice meal overall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok brunch...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to their Sunday brunch, and overall, we weren't impressed. The food was what I would expect from a far less expensive buffet. The only unique features were the waffle bar and the omelet station. Our service was terrible, the waitress was rude and failed to fill our coffee for 15 minutes after we told her what we wanted. Overall, I probably will not be going back, I can get a better breakfast for half the price elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Frustrating and disappointing”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family made an annual Christmas Eve luncheon for years. After a family passing, we missed the last 6 years went back this year and were profoundly disappointed with our experience. The menu used to have all kinds of specialities and dozens of choices. This new menu is bland and is limited to 4 entree's, 4 salads and 4 sandwiches. All of the Gris specialities that used to be on the daily menu are now only offered weekly specials. They substiuted chopped onions for crumbled bleu cheese on the cobb salad. We questioned the waitress who told us she hears it all the time and has "not been told why they cut it back so much". No bread unless we asked. It was if they were serving their last meal before closing and Christmas Eve diners got what was left in the fridge. Very sad..don't waste your money, even for the Gris ambiance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griswold Inn ~ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Griswold Inn ~ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing