We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissppointed by food and service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Seal Seafood Grille

Black Seal Seafood Grille
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Long Island
Level Contributor
224 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Dissppointed by food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have visited this place now a third time in the last few years. It was a nice place for lunch. On our last visit they screwed up a cobb salad by putting chicken on it that tasted like it was steamed and reheated. The clear chowder had more potatoes than broth or clams, the stuffed clam was dry and salty and my Cesare's Salad with grilled shrimp was delivered with over cooked and over salted salmon. (I would have ate it had it been cooked better.) The bar had a good crowd of locals. I would consider a drink and wings for a place like this and skip eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tabhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    49
    26
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best French Onion Soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I love French Onion Soup and this was one of the best I have had in quite a while.. Great flavor, yummy cheese.. Wonderful..
I also has the baked clam.. It was ok, they say there the best but I have had better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABriteCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stopped in for a beer. Considered ordering a couple apps, but nothing on the menu was appealing. The place was small and tacky. Need to refurbish to attain old world charm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EB0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after walking through the town and before the train/boat ride. This was our first stop on a family New England vacation and my teenage boys claim their oyster po'boys were the best meal all week. Prices were reasonable and everyone else in the family enjoyed their lunch too. Wait staff was very friendly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

this place is in Essex village and great for lunch and dinner , priced reasonably and the food is fresh with the ocean footsteps away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Seal Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Black Seal Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing