We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we made the trip”

Essex Steam Train and Riverboat
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take one or both tours in combination for a delightful sightseeing excursion through some of the most scenic areas of Connecticut: scenic train ride in restored railroad cars pulled by a coal-fired locomotive and a ride up the Connecticut River by riverboat.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Glad we made the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to ride this train at the last minute. We added it to our itinerary for our trip home to WV from NH. We rode it on July 5th. We were shocked at how many people were there! We would describe the train station as very busy to chaotic. We purchased our tickets over the phone the day before and easily picked them up. We enjoyed the ride despite high temps. We felt herded onto the steamboat which was crowded. We were able to get chairs.
The ride was enjoyable. We were surprised to hear the staff on the boat urging people to smoke on the upper deck. I live in the smokiest state in the US and was surprised to see smoking encouraged on a family attraction. Luckily, nobody lit up while we enjoyed the boat.

Worth the trip for the rare chance to ride a steam train and a steam boat.
We enjoyed it despite the heat and crowds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paige N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    151
    45
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The Real Deal Locamotive Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

You will be taken back to the old days of locamotives and the wild west. The only thing is that this is Connecticut and many small railroad companies like this one existed a hundred years ago all over The Northeast. This small company takes you through several stops along a short trip where you can see Gillete Castle and other interesting things if you look hard enough. The train ride is so historic as this route still exists the way it was "bacjk in the day". A real treat for the entire family

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveljounalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelton, connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Essex Excursion - NOT for a hot day!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had relatives visiting from Florida this past weekend (July 6-7). Since they used to live in CT, and had never gone to the Essex train/boat, they were really excited to do it. Well, great idea.....for Autumn, not July. CT got up to about 95 on Saturday and the train ride was much less than enjoyable. We went for the pricier tickets....$36 for first class (note: if you order 5 or more, you get the family discount, which brings the price down to $32 & change). The swivel seats are very nice, it's like a fabric covered wing chair on a swivel base. They had beverage service, which was great, any kind of soft drink or alcohol you would want, even champagne. I only wanted a soda, which would have been better with more ice, but they were running out of ice so they had to limit it for everyone. NO Air Conditioning on the train!! NO Fans on the train! And on a humid, sticky, unbearably hot day like last Saturday, basically NO Breeze on the train! Even when it was chugging along on the not so scenic route to the boat ride. The windows were open, of course, but they are small and offer no relief. There is a more open car, with huge windows, which would be better on this type of day. We arrived at the boat ramp and they hadn't unloaded the previous guests from the boat, so we waited.....in 90+degree heat, in the blazing sun, no shade, for about 15 minutes. Terrible. The least they could do it put up an awning or canopy or something; particularly for the seniors as they wait on this gravel surface in sweltering heat. On to the boat, finally! There is a lower area where the bar/food is, then a middle area, where you are also in the shade and have a pretty good view. Then, there is the top deck, where there is no seating, but a spectacular view of the CT river. Man, was it hot up there! Needless to say, very few people went up there. We sat in the middle area, which was pretty nice. Drinks were good on this little cruise; I recommend the pink lemonade. Amazingly, they have a very good, pretty roomy ladies rest room, with three stalls, on the lower level. They also had a nice young college guy who gives you a good narration about the area; he does this from middle level, so if you really want to be able to hear him & understand everything, sit there. Once that was over, we got off and got back on the train for the short return trip. I likened being on this train on this particular day to being a baked potato cooking in an oven...because that's just how it felt. I really think they can do more with several things here....the train depot area is pretty run down, they need to spruce that up a little. The snack "car" is so cute, but so, so small and again, on a hot day, difficult to enjoy. We were there about 1 pm before we boarded the train and they were out of some things on the menu. They serve cold pre-made sandwiches which you can have heated if you want. I had a cold turkey on wheat and it was good, simple but good. They have outdoor picnic tables & limited indoor seating. The gift shop was small but cute and the museum area was very entertaining and informative, but, again, on this day, so, so miserable to be in. There was ONE room that had A/C with some beautiful photos on the walls....many of us were huddled around this one A/C just looking for relief. All in all, I think on a cool Autumn day, this trip would have been much better. But, I also think they should do something about trying to cool down that 1st class train car for this kind of CT summer day. Install some "working" fans.....BTW, they DID have 2 fans in 1st class, mounted on the wall of the car near the entrance...but, according to the conductor, no, they don't work, they are antique fans, just for "show". Great, really helpful. So, to sum up, if you can pick an Autumn day, or a cooler summer day, that would be the way to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank donnam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beginner's Steam Train Ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a short (1 hr) steam train ride along the CT River from Essex. Great for beginners and for small children. They have 1 open car ride, which is more interactive, but you cannot hear the narrative - which might have been interesting. The park does not have any trains that you can explore on your own - a caboose for children to see would have been exciting for them. This train connects with a fake paddleboat for another ride (you can take just the train ride if you wish).
They have a small museum, but it is not very good - 3 year olds can play with a small wooden train set - but not interesting for anyone over 5. Essex Train Park has been there for quite a while, I would have thought they would have made some improvements. The ticket person made a mistake in the amount she charged me, but corrected it when I discovered it. Parking lot is big enough - & there is not charge for parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiS909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Apprehensive, but afterwards glad we did.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Family wanted to go but thought it would be a bust. Bought the tickets online which was the way to go. Very easy check-in. Bought the round trip in first class. Seating was great and comfortable. You could get water, soda and juices for $1.50. Train ride about 40 minutes each way. Riverboat ride about 1 1/2 hrs. They serve hot dogs, burgers and other sandwiches on the boat. Seating on the boat was tight, but you can move around. Except for heat of 95, it was a great cheap afternoon. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essex Steam Train and Riverboat also viewed

 

Been to Essex Steam Train and Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing