We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eagle Flyer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex Steam Train and Riverboat

Essex Steam Train and Riverboat
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take one or both tours in combination for a delightful sightseeing excursion through some of the most scenic areas of Connecticut: scenic train ride in restored railroad cars pulled by a coal-fired locomotive and a ride up the Connecticut River by riverboat.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eagle Flyer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a nice experience in February when the family is cooped up and looking for something different to do. The staff is very friendly and does a good job narrating historical facts. Recommend for older children since the ride is 2.5 hours. Bring your own snacks or they have pastries, snacks, hot beverages on board for purchase. We saw one juvenile Eagle along the river....Thought it was affordanble too, $55 for 3 people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    151
    45
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
276 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Vintage Train Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you or your family have never been on a train before, this is the place to go. We brought our 3 year old grandson, and our 1 year granddaughter. At first we had planned to do the full experience with the riverboat, but we decided against it. It would have been too much. We arrived early to take pictures and check out the trains. My grandson was in complete awe of the size and sounds of this train, and it took a bit of coaxing to get him aboard. Once on board, we sat in an open car where cinders did fly in and be both exciting and an annoyance if they got into your eyes. My grandson loved the ride, and enjoyed having his ticket punched by the train conductor. The small museum and gift shop was a nice ending to the day. If you have older children, do the riverboat also. It's well worth the extra time and money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTRTeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Felt like a Kid Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I remember my father taking me down to see the last steam train make the run from Boston to Washington DC in the 50's and marveling at this belching, groaning art form straining from the station like an ogre with the rope across his shoulder. Wonderful trip up the Connecticut river. Great Cars lovingly restored. Can't wait to share this with the grand children, when they are born.

Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Magical Train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I purchased these tickets in August the minute they went on sale and the Saturday evening trains were sold out within 45 minutes. There's a reason this event is difficult to get tockets for. It is a magical adventure to the North Pole complete with Santa, Mrs. Claus, elves, singing, hot chocolate and cookies. I will never forget the excitement on my little guys faces when the conductor announced ' All aboard for the North Pole'
A wonderful way to begin the Christmas season. Don't miss this event!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank michmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“North Pole Express”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wonderful experience. We had Snow Flake for our elf who is a repressed Broadway performer. Lots of laughs. Kids ranged from 7 down to 4. All loved it, as did the parents. Well worth the cost.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fivebz1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essex Steam Train and Riverboat also viewed

 

Been to Essex Steam Train and Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing