We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Train”

Essex Steam Train and Riverboat
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take one or both tours in combination for a delightful sightseeing excursion through some of the most scenic areas of Connecticut: scenic train ride in restored railroad cars pulled by a coal-fired locomotive and a ride up the Connecticut River by riverboat.
ny
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Magical Train”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I purchased these tickets in August the minute they went on sale and the Saturday evening trains were sold out within 45 minutes. There's a reason this event is difficult to get tockets for. It is a magical adventure to the North Pole complete with Santa, Mrs. Claus, elves, singing, hot chocolate and cookies. I will never forget the excitement on my little guys faces when the conductor announced ' All aboard for the North Pole'
A wonderful way to begin the Christmas season. Don't miss this event!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank michmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    161
    46
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“North Pole Express”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wonderful experience. We had Snow Flake for our elf who is a repressed Broadway performer. Lots of laughs. Kids ranged from 7 down to 4. All loved it, as did the parents. Well worth the cost.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fivebz1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“North Pole Express”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I just went on the North Pole Express train with our 2 1/2 and 4 1/2 year old kids and memere. We were a little nervous after our poor Thomas the Tank Engine experience in Newport, RI. We went online to purchase tickets and saw that no tickets were available on the evening we wanted. I called and the gentleman on the phone was very nice and said we can come and put our name on the will-call list and they haven't turned anyone away this year. We showed up 45 minutes prior to the train departure time and put our name on the list. 10 minutes prior to the train departure they called our name to tell us they had space for us. We were on car #4 and had the best seats on the train. Cora Spondence was our "elf". Cora did a great job including everyone in the adventure. She had a great singing voice and was very animated. The kids loved the hot chocolate and cookies and enjoyed Cora co much they gave her a big hug as we were leaving. Seeing the look on the kids faces when Santa and Mrs. Clause came in our train car made the whole experience worth it. Our kids loved it so much they passed out on the ride home (and so did my wife). When it was all said and done the train ride was at least an hour and a half long. I would definitely recommend this trip to kids of all ages. We have already said we will go back next year and plan on asking for Cora as our "elf". Definitely worth the drive and the money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tricia13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great way to spend a summer day”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Brought the family, a great fun way to spend the day, with the antique steam train and steamboat ride, ended having dinner at the Griswold, a great fun day with the family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A total Experience for train riders”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I am old enough to remember these trains as travel so the trips were very nostalgic--wonderful memories

Helpful?
Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essex Steam Train and Riverboat also viewed

 

Been to Essex Steam Train and Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing