We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
amherst, NH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed in the house next to the inn. We liked it because we had the house to share with those who also had rooms in the house. There was a kitchen in the back, living room in the center, office space and dining room area to the left.

It is not worth the extra charge a for the "suites" vs. standard rooms. Upstairs the room to the right #10 was the same square footage as the room next to it, #11, but #10 was charged as a standard and #11 was charged as a "suite" because it had a couch in it. Go figure! Room #11 had a bathroom that was half the size of #10. Pay for the standard and go with that - suites are not worth the extra $.

Fireplace was nice in the living area. Don't expect any frills. No flowers anywhere, no bottled water, no vending or ice machines, no turn down service, no tv or radio except in public areas. Pretty vanilla.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbp0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    89
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
42
159
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Me and my girlfriend flew into the UK for my 30th and had a long drive up to the Gris.. when we eventually got there late at night we were excited as we were driving down main street and saw the hotel. The guy behind the reception was friendly enough, welcomed us and told us where to park and gave us the rundown of the hotel... I wouldn't say it was the friendliest welcome having been travelling for over 14hrs in total but neither was he unwelcoming.

We were shown to our room which was over the road (on the same side of the road) from the main hotel and it was located in what I can only describe as a small house which a few rooms in there... we had to go through the lounge area and our room was straight above the lounge area. The room we were in had a seperate sitting area and was very clean and nicely decorated while the bedroom had a nice bed and again was all decorated in a old style. The bathroom was more modern and had an amazing shower... if you get the chance, ask for a room here because it was fantastic.

As we hadnt eaten we decided to go and eat over in the hotel restaraunt and was pleased that they were serving food late (approx 10pm) and the waitresses were extremely welcoming and friendly. They knew we were from England and made us feel very welcome and took time out to make conversation with us and recommend their local beers and specials despite it being very busy. The meal itself was beautiful and the local beer that washed it down was just what the doctor had ordered! There was a very friendly atmosphere in the main bar area where there was a local band playing and everyone seemed to be enjoying the music and beer. The band were involving the audience and even had a few women up playing the triangle etc.. we stayed here til the early hours and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with staff and other guests alike having a good time.

Due to the travelling I woke early and had a nice stroll down to the harbour to watch the sunrise.. if you can wake at this time then I would suggest heading down there... the clear skys, autumn leaves falling and the sunrise was unbeliveable, great photos!!

Walking back I called into the coffee house opposite and had a nice coffee and chat with the coffee shop owner, would stongly recommend having a coffee from here!!


Unfortunately we only stayed for one night before heading to Boston but I would thoroughly recommend to anyone to stay here.. we will certainly be heading back to the Gris but this time we will be staying more than the 1 night.

If your looking for a modern hotel with all mod cons and staff giving you fake hospitality then don't bother. If you are looking for a place with a lot of charachter, genuine friendly staff, great accomodation set in a picturesque town then stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaftonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I am a nostalgic for a time when the Griz was built. The rooms are a real achievement. Truly amazing to have the bed, paintings, furniture and bathroom all in sync with the same time period. Not to mention the place has WI-FI. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. My girlfriend and I will always cherish our stay and will return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The most quaint, adorable, spacious, cozy room I have ever stayed. I always love Inn's for their character and comfort but never had I stayed in a room like this. Our own private apartment above the town toy store. With many windows looking out on Maine St. The old wooden support beams made you feel as if you were back in the 1700's. All the furniture was antique and looked like from a doll house. A wall dedicated merely to old books was so cool!!! I loved it here and two nights was not enough!!!!! I miss it already! The town is adorable too with lots to do and only a 2hr trip from NYC...great city escape

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed here with a close friend for the night, room #38 and was completely happy with the experience. The room was beautiful. The antique furniture will take you back to a quieter, nostalgic time when flat TV's didn't exist, and distractions in a high digital age were absent. A beautiful writing desk, lots of great light with views outside to the quaint downtown of Essex's Main Street. Set behind the Essex Coffee and Tea Co., the local cafe, its quite fantastic to wake up to the silence of the town, the morning light, and walk down the stairs to either enjoy your free complimentary breakfast right across the street at the Griswold Inn (if you can't hold out for their yummy weekend brunch at 11) or to get a great latte and their famous freshly baked muffins or (for you New Yorkers) an array of warm H & H bagels, served up directly by the owner. Afterwards, a short stroll (2 minutes) to the waterfront is a necessity, where you can take in the beautiful CT river.

I have heard from others who have stayed here at the Griswold Inn that if you want quiet and solitude and privacy, request a room across the street from the Inn (as we did). But if you are in for a fun night of music, mingling, and great drinks, it may be more fun to stay in the inn itself, as they have a lively crowd always in the tap room, with different bands playing, their own lager on tap, hot popcorn, and great drinks (definitely worth a night eating and drinking at their adjoining Wine Bar).

And did I mention, room #38 has the BEST shower I've ever had staying in an inn or major hotel (and I've stayed in many). An original porcelain tub in #38 made an exceptional bath too. Aside from the very cool switch-on fireplace in the bedroom, be warned: there is no television, radio, or mini-fridge...or little treats or snacks. But that's why I loved it. Felt so relaxed and refreshed from our weekend there!

Also, they have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madelinekump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My wife and I spent our 25th Anniversary at the Griswold Inn--our first stay at this inn and our first visit to Essex, CT. Both were perfect! We especially recommend a visit during the Christmas season. The inn is an historic landmark, beautiful and interesting any time, but for Christmas it is a New England picture postcard come to life. Our suite (over the new Inn shop, with an ideal view) was large and quiet, with a fireplace and period furnishings. Unlike some other old inns we've visited (drafty, creaky, tired), however, the Gris is up-to-date in the ways that count--electronic thermostats and first-rate heat; a big modern bathroom with lots of light and water pressure; all the amenities you expect at a top hotel.

The staff are terrifically friendly; we felt like locals as soon as we stepped up to the registration desk. After a great dinner--the chef is especially good at game and seafood--we went to the Tap Room, where a super swing band was playing. The band members came over to talk and have a drink during their breaks, and when they found out it was our anniversary they dedicated a song to us in the next set--we danced to it and everyone in the packed tavern applauded. It was as if we already knew everyone there. It was fun to find a place to listen to music and to dance that isn't a deafening club for 20-somethings. This crowd ran from 21 to 81.

The Inn is on the quaintest of Main Streets, with good shops and no touristy schlock. Somehow Essex hasn't lost its soul--it is still a real village, and the Griswold Inn is its communal hearth. It's worth a special trip. We'll be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidReader50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

On first arrival to the Griswold Inn, we were greeted by a warm fire and courteous staff. Our room was cozy and well decorated and located behind the inn. It was quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff was welcoming and helpful. The food was delicious! The wait staff was attentive and eager to please. The various dining rooms are very homey and comfortable. We were made to feel at home. In the morning, coffee and tea were readily available as was juice and milk and we were told to help ourselves to toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and delicious muffins I look forward to our next weekend away at the Griswold Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
12.8 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing