We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer. Not Food.”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford,CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beer. Not Food.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently stopped at the Inn after the Steam Train for some lunch. We were debating whether to drive to Westbrook (which has some great dining options) or to stay local and enjoy the town. We were very disappointed in the food there...I had a salad and my husband had the fish and chips. I also emailed the Inn about the quality of our lunch there and they did not even send a reply. Next time we will take the short ride to Westbrook instead. Great place for atmosphere,beer, and sea songs, but pass on the dinner/lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snwfkemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
42
159
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at the Inn in order to have dinner and drinks and not have to drive afterward. However, upon arrival, we were told that our reservation was cancelled. Hmmm...We explained that we wouldn't drive from NJ just to have dinner at the Inn and would need a place to stay. Well, there simply was "no room at the inn"! We wasted a lot of time waiting while the manager scrambled to find us a place to stay. I had envisioned a nice drink or two at the bar before dinner, but it didn't happen. We felt that if we were out of the manager's eyesight we would have been forgotten. The manager did find us a room at a nearby (20 minutes) B&B and were told that the B&B only takes 2 night stays but was doing a favor by allowing us to stay only one night. Okay. The B&B was adequate. The room was small but clean and had a bed (hard) with a fireplace which was on the same wall as the head of the bed. The TV was on the mantel of the fireplace making it difficult to watch TV from bed. Oh well. We did get our meal and drinks for free (as it should be). The meal was good, not excellent. We did have a fun time in the Tavern portion of the Inn with a two man band and an amicable crowd. The Tavern was the best part of our visit. It would have been nice to simply go to our room afterwards but we had to drive to the B&B. All in all, I would say that if you're going there, verify your reservation so that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Can't thelp you there, we never got to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aguacaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently we spent three nights at the Griswold Inn on Main Street in Essex, Connecticut. We had eaten at the "Gris" before but never stayed at the inn. The Gris was established in 1776 and lives up to its historic reputation as a place to stay. It all starts with the front desk, where Jarrod, Stephanie, Kim, the manager, and others provide the warmest and most helpful service possible. The rooms are historic and well-appointed. They vary in size depending on whether you are in the inn itself or one of the adjoining houses/annex, and there is no elevator but luckily the Inn is only spread out over 2 floors. The one surprise both negative and positive was the live music that was performed every night, usually from 8:00 PM through 11:00 or midnight, directly next to the main dining area on the first floor. It’s a crowd pleaser to many as it offers everything from Retro Music of the 60’s, to sing-a-longs; however, to others, myself included, its decibel levels prevented us from dining at the Inn. And unfortunately, to the couple who travelled with us, they could not even think about getting to bed until the music stopped, which on Friday night was midnight! Breakfasts are continental buffet (cereals, bagels, muffins, yogurt, etc.) with excellent coffee. Essex richly deserves its #1 ranking in the book "The Best Small Towns in America." The inn is on Essex's classic Main Street where there is so much to see do within walking distance and an easy drive to other gorgeous spots along the River and the Shoreline. Main Street stretches from Essex Square to the town dock and marina. It is lined with shops, restaurants and historic homes. For a wonderful stay in an area where our country began (Essex was founded in 1648), consider Essex and the Griswold Inn.

Room Tip: If live music hinders your sleep, I'd suggest asking at the desk before checking in if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayLehmannNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Village, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staying at the Griswold Inn is like taking a trip back in time to the late 18th century. The Inn, which opened in 1776, and surrounding town of Essex are historically interesting and full of charm. Our room was comfy, sunny, and quiet.
We stayed at the Inn on a Saturday night and our only complaint was that the restaurant closed at 10:00pm and the only other option was the pub which featured a performance by the loudest duo I have ever heard. The food is supposed to be terrific in the pub (and it was actually our first choice), but it was so loud that you couldn't hear yourself think. I am a musician, but this noise was inappropriate for anything other then a hard core concert venue.
With the time being 10:05 we ended up begging the hostess in the restaurant to serve us a bowl of clam chowder, which turned out to be quite delicious.
I'd like to:
A. Try the highly recommended pub fare early in the evening, prior to the band's downbeat.
or
B. Try the restaurant when we can explore the full menu.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrumpetDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a business lunch in this genuinely old inn. The beer was great and the clam chowder cam e with sherry pepper sauce. These people know what they are doing. There is fresh popcorn, and the bread was piping hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekhar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Altough it is one of the only hotels in the area, the Griswold Inn was perfect. travel with friends and my wife, we shared a room that had NO tv, which was exactly what was needed in this little town of Essex. it has its own restaurant and bar which both were plentiful and tasty. a free breakfast topped it off and will definetely be back. i recommend this place to ANYONE looking for a true getaway from the tech world!

Room Tip: reserve far in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My first review seems to have fallen off the Tripadvisor list. So, I'll try again because TA reviews are important to us.

We stayed at the Gris for my wife's birthday at end of July. We are living on our boat just up the river so how could we pass up a night at the Gris. We are so happy we did this. We were greeted by the most enjoyable and friendly person who made us feel very welcome. Not just psudo-welcome but genuinely welcome. Our room was next door, first floor. Walking into this historic house was like coming home. The room was fine, the bed comfortable and clean as a whistle. Dinner, Sea Chanties in the bar and the evening was a great success. It was so much fun I asked the next morning if we could stay another night! We did and it was as much fun as the first. No bawdy sea songs, but a super fun trio of four (that's right) who kept everyone smiling.
We didn't want to leave after a good breakfast, but had to.

I don't know what makes a place like the so enjoyable, but what ever the blend of charm, fun, lightheartedness, attention-but never too much, comfort and history - what ever it is we had it all!

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaUmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
12.8 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
254 reviews
5.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing