We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Griswold Inn...35 Years Later”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Thirty-five years ago we spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Griswold Inn. It was charming then and it is just as charming, if not more so, now. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, the bed was comfortable (a super mattress).

We had dinner in the Library - service was excellent and food was very good.
Essex has to be one of the most lovely towns in all of New England. We had a great time at the Gris

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and suite 4 are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatchenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 334 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends and overall found it to be a well run inn situated in a quaint and quiet little town. The rooms are clean and have what you need but since the buildings are old it all felt cramped. I was here with friends and wouldnt put this on my list for a romantic get away. At least not for the rooms we had. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Essex is a cute town but they roll up the sidewalks early so be prepared even on weekends. The Gris has entertainment that was ok but for the most part they stop seving food when the music starts. Also the retail shops in town dont open til noon on Sunday. Which doesnt work if you want to do some shopping after your 11am check out and have already done all the other local activities. Overall the Griswold Inn is very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bornatravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent four nights of a supremely beautiful and warm Connecticut River week in two different rooms at the Gris. First room was a superior cottage -- couldn't stand up in the shower (I'm 6'6"). Second room was on 2nd floor of one of the outbuildings -- shower worked fine, but I carved my scalp a few times walking under the three thresholds in the room. Beds were comfortable. Buildings (neither of these was part of the original inn) had a rustic charm -- windows without screens (but we propped them open for some wonderful night air), rough-hewn furniture.. Amenities were few, but that's fine. Mostly well-kept, but the Venetian blinds can use a good dusting. A nice Continental self-service breakfast with good coffee. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Newer wine bar was nice but closes way too early (around 930-10). Older bar had so-so rock bands that played until 11-midnight... wouldn't want to try to sleep in the main building while that was going on. Didn't try the main restaurant this time (last ate there about 20 years ago), but had some good meals in Middletown (Esca, Luce) and an unbelievably good breakfast at the Whistle Stop in Deep River (thanks, Yelp!). Don't expect fancy, but do expect a quiet, charming town with a lot of boaters.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highway_song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Gris for a random Friday night to get away from the stuff at home that distracts us for enjoying each others company and having a good time. We had dinner at the Inn, which was good comfort food and slept soundly in our rooms.. with no TV. We then explored Essex and went up to Chester for a great lunch. As an escape from the 'modern' world, this place can't be beat.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank proche18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is the oldest continuously running Inn and charming. Crooked, wavy floors (be careful if you have had too much to drink!), low ceilings, etc. There is a balance between liking charm and being comfortable however, so just know what you are getting into before you go. We stayed in one of the outbuildings, which has 2 lovely sitting rooms and large conference table and small kitchenette (not full cooking). You can host a meeting or small family reunion here.

The bed and pillows are hard. If you like firm, that won't bother you. The sheets were scratchy and could certainly be softer. The bathroom was tidy and clean, fairly modern, but the water makes a racket, so you can't sleep through anyone in the building taking a shower.

The buildings are on the main street, so it is not quiet. Buildings of that era were, so it is part of the deal. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

We ate at their restaurant. The food was very good but largely rich, therefore not so healthy! There were really no "light" options - even the salads.

It is a bit pricey for off season. But if a little quaint getaway is what you are looking for and you can afford the approximately $250/night rates, so for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the ground level so people can't look in your windows when they walk by. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieGT203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Gris is in the heart of this small town; the location, on Main Street, is ideal. My room was ok; the bathroom was retrofit with a fiberglass stall shower; toiletries , linens and continental breakfast, included in the price of the room, were adequate. The inn has a monopoly on location, but misses the mark with the details.

Room Tip: if you cannot walk up stairs, be sure to mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjulia48305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our suite at the inn was large, very comfortable and furnished with beautiful antiques. There were on two small problems....no TV in the rooms (my fault for not asking) and we had to cross the street to get to the main building to eat. Not a big deal because we picked an extraordinarily unseasonable February day but if the weather had been the usual February it would have been annoying. But the place was hopping, dinner was great and they even give you breakfast.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over the tap room....I would imagine it would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSBG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
759 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
4.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,409 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
274 reviews
5.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range: $183 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing