We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Connecticut River Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum covers the maritime history of the Connecticut River Valley.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

There is an interesting wall mural stretching over three floors that explains the history around the Connecticut River. There are interesting pictures and audio clips. The replica of the turtle submarine - which you can climb into - is especially interesting. Cameras are allowed.

It isn't very big but worth visiting once.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadhuDRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Make sure the entire museum is OPEN before purchasing full-price admission”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The museum is tiny, but chock-full of historical information and artifacts. Highlights are the "turtle" or first-ever submarine and the stairway mural that maps all 410 miles of the CT river. I learned a lot and found the place quite interesting, though it's probably worth mentioning that I am not originally from CT. Much of the information was therefore new to me. The major downside when we visited was that the entire 3rd floor was closed for remodeling. This they informed us only after we had paid our admission, which was annoying. If you plan to do the museum during the 2014 summer, ask whether the entire museum is open before paying! Important note - to see and take in everything in only took us about an hour, maybe an hour and a half, tops.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meggreg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watch Hill, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Right on the water, beautiful, very educational and historical. I loved seeing all the old ships and artifacts. Kids got a little bored but brightened up when they got to climb into the old submarine displayed there. Also, after we walked to sweet ps and bought ice cream and brought it back to the docks at the end of the street. It was great. To anyone wondering if they should vacation in essex, definitely yes. It's so peaceful and beautiful and a great way to relax.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford CT
Level Contributor
264 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely little Gem in Essex”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Totally love this museum. It's small, so don't think you will spend hours going from room to room, but you an easily spend hours with all of the interesting history they have packed into a small, but comfortable space. Gorgeous location in Essex and enough cool exhibits to keep my 7 year-old son engaged. Great place to stop and see the river. I recommend a fall visit to catch the foliage on the river in full bloom.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ship Ahoy!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed the museum as it was very informative about the history of Essex, Ct. It is small but contains a lot of interesting facts and items to see as well as videos. The third floor was closed for a new exhibit being set up so we did not get to see it but would like to go back. They also offer cruises but space is limited so I would recommend calling in advance. We will definitely do that in the future!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connecticut River Museum also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut River Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing