We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ship Ahoy!”

Connecticut River Museum
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum covers the maritime history of the Connecticut River Valley.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ship Ahoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed the museum as it was very informative about the history of Essex, Ct. It is small but contains a lot of interesting facts and items to see as well as videos. The third floor was closed for a new exhibit being set up so we did not get to see it but would like to go back. They also offer cruises but space is limited so I would recommend calling in advance. We will definitely do that in the future!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice area museum, with schooner trips available!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited the museum last week and curator Heklen Davis could not have been more welcoming and helpful. She gave us tips for touring the museum, including a path that would have us circumvent a school group then double back to that area. And she told us about a Connecticutt River schooner, the Mary E, that would do a two-hour sunset tour. It was $35 each, but that included a free admission to the museum (normally $8). We couldn't pass that up! We really liked the museum, and loved the schooner trip. I even help hoist a sail! Great experience. Thanks, Helen!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank German B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Informative Museum Right on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This museum is right on the Connecticut River and you drive through the quaint historic town of Essex to get there. The museum details the history of the area. Information on the war of 1812 was interesting and at the early submarine. A unique mural of the Connecticut River up to Canada goes up the stairwell to the third floor. Nice way to spend an afternoon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quib09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Educational Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We love this place. As soon as you walk thru the front door you are greeted with warmth. The beautiful history of photos and exhibits are so educational. The setting is beautiful on the Connecticut River. We took a few evening presentations on the history of the war of 1812.
Last night we took the evening sunset cruise on the Mary E. The cruise was lovely. The crew the best. What a wonderful place with so many things going on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, mass
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Great Little Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you are in Essex, be sure to visit this museum. It has 3 floors filled with information about Connecticut River history, all beautifully displaced with clear easy-to-read explanations. Also, you can have a look at an early submarine and learn about the war of 1812 -and a battle the British won. Best of all, the views of each window are spectacular. For adults and children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cap25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connecticut River Museum also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut River Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing