We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but the atmosphere is lacking”
Review of Sofia's Restaurant

Sofia's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in East Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: At Sofia's Italian Restaurant our extensive menu offers you a delicious taste of Italy with everything from Pizzas to Pasta Dishes, Seafood, to incredible sandwiches. Treat yourself to unique Daily Specials and top off your meal with amazing Italian desserts. All dishes prepared with only the finest ingredients, flavors you won't find anywhere else. There is most certainly something on our menu for everyone! Sofia's has been family owned and operated since 1983 and we are located in East Windsor, Connecticut which is halfway between Springfield, Massachusetts and Hartford, Connecticut.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but the atmosphere is lacking”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We would eat here much more often if they built a large bar area where you'd be less likely to be seated next to a family with loud children.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinglawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    59
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This our favorite place t go for Italian Food.The calamari appetizer is fabulous; crisp flavorful--and not greasy. Their pasta dishes are beyond compare, and the portions are huge; always enough to take home. The staff is friendly and attentive and it's a good value for the price. I can't recommend Sofia's highly enough. You've got to try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanWritesPrecise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Greek's making Italian food....”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were in the mood for Italian food and were in the area, so we stopped into Sofia's. We should've known not to order Italian food when we saw Greek salad, hamburgers, buffalo wings and onion rings on the menu. This is a Greek diner masquerading as an Italian restaurant. The sauce on the pasta and eggplant was so sweet, it tasted like they added a pound of sugar to the pot. I'm sure the other meals are fine, but don't expect real Italian food if you decide to eat there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank landocolt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice people, very good service, better than average food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My FBI (full-blooded Italian) espousa would probably pass Sofia's up, but I thought is was pretty good. Very American-southern Italian (for those who know the differences). I had the Chicken Cacciatorre which was long on veggies and chicken - mostly dark meat the way I like it. Very tomatoe-y - again, very much southern Italy. My associates liked their entrees as well. Would have liked to try the pizza since it looked good going to other tables, but we were on a time-crunch. I would go back to try the pizza...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor locks, ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our Favorite Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofia's Restaurant in East Windsor, CT is easily accessible from any where in Northern Ct. It is 2 minutes off I-91 N or S. The food is terrific and the value is unequaled. Many of the menu selections would be almost twice as much in other Italian restaurants, a good example being the Scrod Sofia. You will have a wonderful meal in a friendly atmosphere at a reasonable price. Take the trip. It's worth it. We go frequently.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sofia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing